Hawksworth Wins Star Mazda Championship at Mazda Raceway

Jack Hawksworth, the dominant driver in the 2012 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear, survived a 'Zanardi moment' in the Mazda Raceway corkscrew on the last lap of today's Race 1 to collect his eighth win of the season in the #82 Team Pelfrey / TORGOEN Swiss Watches / EXA Networks Mazda — and clinch the battle for the series championship. Gabby Chaves, running hard on Hawksworth's tail for the entire race in the #19 JDC Motorsports / CLARO / Marca Colombia / Tecpro Mazda initiated the last-lap pass attempt that nearly collected them both, but survived to finish second and move up to 2nd in the points. During the race, he also set the fastest lap, winning the PEAK Performance Pole Award the inside front-row starting spot for tomorrow's Race 2. Rounding out the podium was 3rd-place finisher Connor De Phillippi, who won this race from the pole last year and remains fourth in the championship points driving the #2 Juncos Racing / ModSpace Racing / One24 Mazda.

"I reckon this is about the best day of my life so far… and I can't begin to tell you how relieved I am," said Hawksworth. "Gabby Chaves was right behind me the whole race and I couldn't shake him, but he couldn't get by either, so I was surprised when he suddenly appeared alongside me in the corkscrew and there wasn't room for both of us. I knew I either had to let him by and win the race or go off in the dirt and keep my foot in it like Alex Zanardi did years ago. At that point I was determined to win, and so was he, so we were both off in the dirt, but we managed to keep the cars pointed straight and I stayed in the lead. It was a heart-stopping moment, but we got through it and this is just a tremendous victory for the Pelfrey team. We might celebrate a bit tonight, but we still have another race tomorrow, and the season finale after that, so we can't let our hair down too far… there's still a season left to finish."

Four drivers were in contention for the championship at the start of the race, and three of them finished on the podium. The remaining driver, Sage Karam, second in the championship driving the #88 Andretti Autosport / Comfort Revolution Mazda, had an off-course excursion in Turn 6 on two consecutive laps and dropped from his 2nd-place starting spot to finish 7th in the race.

"We started the race on used tires and they were fine for the first part of the race; we were able to stay with Jack and Gabby, but they started going off in the middle of the race and I slid off track… and then did it again on the next lap," said a chastened Karam. "That was pretty much my race right there, but I learned a valuable lesson about keeping my head and focusing even when your race is coming apart around you. Andretti Autosport is a great team and we'll have a good car for tomorrow's race and I'll focus on winning, just like I always do."

In addition to winning the race and setting a new Star Mazda record for the most number of wins and poles in a season, Hawksworth's championship comes with the most coveted prize of any open-wheel driver development series – scholarship funding from the Mazda Road to Indy worth more than $600,000 to move up and compete in the 2013 Indy Lights series – the very series where last year's Star Mazda champion, Tristan Vautier, is leading the championship battle heading into the series' season finale at Fontana next weekend.

"I haven't driven an Indy Lights car yet; I wanted to focus on getting the job done in Star Mazda and not tempt fate by dividing my attention," observed Hawksworth. "Perhaps between the end of the race tomorrow and the finale at Petit Le Mans I'll have a bit of a think about what I want to do next year, maybe talk to some people. But right now I just got off the phone telling my family in England, where its three in the morning, that I'd won, and I'm off to be with my team."

Hawksworth has won the championship, but there are still two races remaining in the season, and while he has no intention of doing anything but try to win them both, the outcome of the final events could have substantial career and financial implications for the other drivers involved, so the level of competition will remain high right through Race 2 at Mazda Raceway tomorrow, and the season finale during the Petit Le Mans weekend at Road Atlanta on Oct. 17-19.

Star Mazda on-track action at the Mazda Raceway Grand-Am continues when Race 2 takes the green light for the series' spectacular F1-style standing start at 3:30 pm Sunday, Sept. 9. The starting grid for Race 2 will be set by each car's fastest lap in Race 1. Star Mazda Championship cars all carry two Replay XD1080 cameras to provide exciting driver POV footage for races that are part of the Mazda Motorsports Hour broadcast tape-delayed on Discovery's Velocity Channel in the U.S. and globally on ESPN International. In the U.S., the race will air on Velocity at 12 Noon, Saturday, October 10.


Pos No. Name Hometown Team Laps
1 82 Jack Hawksworth West Yorkshire, England Pelfrey 21
2 19 Gabby Chaves Bogota, Colombia JDC Motorsports 21
3 2 Connor De Phillippi San Clemente, CA Juncos Racing 21
4 57 Diego Ferreira Maracay, Venezuela Juncos Racing 21
5 81 Petri Suvanto Nurmo, Finland Pelfrey 21
6 83 Gustavo Menezes Coto de Caza, CA Pelfrey 21
7 88 Sage Karam Nazareth, PA Andretti 21
8 9 Juan Piedrahita Bogota, Colombia JDC Motorsports 21
9 22 Martin Scuncio Concepcion, Chile Juncos Racing 21
10 16 Lloyd Read JDC Motorsports 21
11 77 Zach Veach Stockdale, OH Andretti 21
12 91 Ashley Freiberg Homer Glen, IL JDC Motorsports 21
13 18 Kyle Kaiser 21
14 20 Carlos Linares Caracas, Venezuela Linares Racing 21
15 53 Andres Mendez Bogota, Colombia Team GDT 21
16 33 Ryan Tveter Oyster Bay, NY Team GDT 21
17 23 Walt Bowlin Tarpon Springs, FL Aim Autosport 20
18 66 Zack Meyer Toronto, Canada Aim Autosport 15
19 21 Camilo Schmidt Merida, Venezuela Linares Racing 9
20 15 Bruno Palli Maracay, Venezuela Juncos Racing 4

Leave a Reply