Toyota beats Porsche in Bahrain

The winning #8 Toyota
The winning #8 Toyota

Toyota took its fifth win of the season in tonight’s 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship finale, the 6 Hours of Bahrain.

The No.8 of Sebastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Anthony Davidson won ahead of the two departing Porsche 919 Hybrids, the German cars appearing for the last time in the WEC. The paddock has united this weekend to pay tribute to the most successful car of the recent era, and the team which has won three consecutive FIA World Endurance Manufacturer Championships.

Ferrari proved once again to be the team to beat, with the No.71 488 GTE of Sam Bird and Davide Rigon being gifted the win in the LMGTE Pro class by their team mates James Calado and Alessandro Pier Guidi in the No.51 who clinched the GT FIA World Endurance Championship title.

The duo was pushed hard by their AF Corse teammates throughout and the No.67 Ford GT of Andy Priaulx and Harry Tincknell which finished third. AF Corse sealed its fourth GTE Pro Teams Trophy in six seasons.

The LMP2 class was nail-bitingly close right to the checkered flag, with the No.31 Vaillante Rebellion of Bruno Senna, Julien Canal and Nicolas Prost taking the checkered flag first and, as a result, the championship title as well.

The #2 Porsche was a full lap down in 2nd
The #2 Porsche was a full lap down in 2nd

Their victory came despite a power steering problem which hampered them, and allowed the No.38 to get close, but not quite close enough. The LMP2 Drivers’ title goes, however, to just Senna and Canal (his second and Senna’s first) as Prost missed one round this season.

In LMGTE Am, Paul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy and Mathias Lauda gave the venerable Aston Martin Vantage the best possible send off by winning and securing the FIA World Endurance Trophies for GTE Am Teams and Drivers.

It was the trio’s fourth victory of the season, but their consistency and seven pole positions also added to their points’ tally. Farewell then to the Vantage, and welcome to its 2018 replacement which will be revealed by Aston Martin next week in London.

Results 6 Hours

Pos Class Driver Team Car Laps Behind
1 LMP1 S.Buemi, A.Davidson, K.Nakajima Toyota Gazoo Racing Toyota 199 0.000s
2 LMP1 T.Bernhard, E.Bamber, B.Hartley Porsche LMP Team Porsche 198 1 Lap
3 LMP1 N.Jani, A.Lotterer, N.Tandy Porsche LMP Team Porsche 198 1 Lap
4 LMP1 M.Conway, K.Kobayashi, J.M.Lopez Toyota Gazoo Racing Toyota 196 3 Laps
5 LMP2 J.Canal, N.Prost, B.Senna Vaillante Rebellion ORECA/Gibson 186 13 Laps
6 LMP2 H-Pin Tung, O.Jarvis, T.Laurent Jackie Chan DC Racing ORECA/Gibson 186 13 Laps
7 LMP2 M.Beche, D.H.Hansson, N.Piquet Jr. Vaillante Rebellion ORECA/Gibson 185 14 Laps
8 LMP2 N.Lapierre, G.Menezes, A.Negrao Signatech Alpine Matmut Alpine/Gibson 185 14 Laps
9 LMP2 R.Gonzalez, S.Trummer, V.Petrov CEFC Manor TRS Racing ORECA/Gibson 185 14 Laps
10 LMP2 M.Rao, B.Hanley, J-E.Vergne CEFC Manor TRS Racing ORECA/Gibson 185 14 Laps
11 LMP2 R.Rusinov, L.Roussel, L.Duval G-Drive Racing ORECA/Gibson 184 15 Laps
12 LMP2 D.Cheng, A.Brundle, T.Gommendy Jackie Chan DC Racing ORECA/Gibson 183 16 Laps
13 LMP2 F.Perrodo, M.Vaxiviere, E.Collard TDS Racing ORECA/Gibson 182 17 Laps
14 GTE Pro D.Rigon, S.Bird AF Corse Ferrari 175 24 Laps
15 GTE Pro J.Calado, A.P.Guidi AF Corse Ferrari 175 24 Laps
16 GTE Pro A.Priaulx, H.Tincknell Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK Ford 174 25 Laps
17 GTE Pro R.Lietz, F.Makowiecki Porsche GT Team Porsche 174 25 Laps
18 GTE Pro S.Mucke, O.Pla Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK Ford 174 25 Laps
19 GTE Pro D.Turner, J.Adam Aston Martin Racing Aston Martin 174 25 Laps
20 GTE Pro N.Thiim, M.Sorensen Aston Martin Racing Aston Martin 173 26 Laps
21 GTE Am P.D.Lana, P.Lamy, M.Lauda Aston Martin Racing Aston Martin 170 29 Laps
22 GTE Am Mok W.S., K.Sawa, M.Griffin Clearwater Racing Ferrari 170 29 Laps
23 GTE Am T.Flohr, F.Castellacci, M.Molina Spirit of Race Ferrari 169 30 Laps
24 GTE Am C.Ried, M.Cairoli, M.Dienst Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche 169 30 Laps
25 GTE Am M.Wainwright, B.Barker, N.Foster Gulf Racing Porsche 163 36 Laps
GTE Pro M.Christensen, K.Estre Porsche GT Team Porsche 84 Retirement

Leave a Reply