Speed wins D.C. GRC Race

Scott Speed
Scott Speed

Scott Speed completed a dominant weekend in winning today's Washington D.C. Red Bull Global Rallycross race. The reigning series champion drove the No. 41 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Beetle to the lead in the first turn and led the entire way. Bryan Herta Rallysport's Patrik Sandell was second with Tanner Foust placing the sister Andretti Beetle on the final podium spot after an entertaining scrap with Brian Deegan.

The win was the second of 2016 for Speed and ninth of his career. Throughout the two days, the ex-Toro Rosso Formula One driver displayed his trademark smooth driving style in leading every session from qualifying yesterday.

“Thank you so much to the fans who came out here at our nation’s capital," an elated Speed said from the top step of the podium. “There’s no question that this is the race that we all look forward to the most. It’s such great racing here, and we are back in the hunt—two wins and we are on a great roll!"

Deegan came home fourth with Joni Wiman completing the top-five. Full results below…

1 41 Scott Speed Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross 10 6:54.521 43.441
2 18 Patrik Sandell Bryan Herta Rallysport 10 1.718 6:56.239 43.419
3 34 Tanner Foust Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross 10 9.309 7:03.830 44.052
4 38 Brian Deegan Chip Ganassi Racing 10 10.583 7:05.104 43.451
5 31 Joni Wiman Honda Red Bull OMSE 10 12.213 7:06.734 44.531
6 00 Steve Arpin Chip Ganassi Racing 10 14.612 7:09.133 43.454
7 07 Nelson Piquet Jr. SH Rallycross 10 19.852 7:14.373 45.387
8 14 Austin Dyne AD Racing 10 25.427 7:19.948 49.326
9 81 Bucky Lasek Subaru Rally Team USA 10 28.709 7:23.230 45.481
10 93 Sebastian Eriksson Honda Red Bull OMSE 7 3 LAPS DNF 46.351

Leave a Reply