Chevrolet Wins NHRA Manufacturer Cup for Record 24th Time

Robert Hight Chevy Funny Car
Robert Hight Chevy Funny Car

Chevrolet is the top manufacturer on the drag strip for a record-extending 24th time.

Chevy Racing was awarded the National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) Manufacturers Cup during the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Awards Ceremony Nov. 18 in Hollywood, California.

It is the third consecutive year and fourth time in the past five seasons that the Bowtie Brand has outscored three other manufacturers. Chevrolet first earned the award in 1966, and no other manufacturer has won it more times. GM brands Oldsmobile and Pontiac combined to win 24 titles.

The Manufacturers Cup is awarded to the automobile manufacturer whose current-year models earn the most points for qualifying and category victories at NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series races and Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series national and divisional events. Points are awarded to entries in Funny Car, Pro Stock, Super Stock and Stock Eliminator classes, plus the School of Automotive Machinists and Technology (SAM NHRA Factory Stock Showdown series.

Points accumulated by Chevrolet Camaro SS and Chevrolet COPO Camaro drivers in the professional and Sportsman classes were more than double the closest manufacturer.

“It’s an honor for Chevrolet to win the NHRA Manufacturers Cup for a record 24th time. This championship is a result of an incredible effort by the Chevrolet Camaro drivers, crew chiefs and teams which earn valuable points throughout the season." said Mark Kent, Chevrolet Director Motorsports Competition.

Overall, 21 different Chevrolet drivers amassed 39 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series and Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series national and divisional victories during the season that concluded Nov. 17 at Auto Club Raceway in Pomona, California.

Robert Hight, driver of the Automobile Club of Southern California Chevrolet Camaro SS, collected a career-high six victories on the way to winning the Funny Car championship for the second time in three years and third of his career. Teammate and 16-time NHRA Funny Car champion John Force pushed his career victory total to 151, including a win at the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals, in the PEAK Coolant & Motor Oil Chevrolet Camaro SS.

Chevrolet has amassed 141 Funny Car victories since 1967, including 61 with the Camaro nameplate. Since the 2015 season, the John Force Racing Funny Car and Top Fuel lineup with Chevrolet has produced 43 wins – led by Hight’s 17. JFR has won an unprecedented 21 NHRA championships.

Erica Enders became the third female in NHRA professional categories with three championships by prevailing in Pro Stock competition in the Melling Performance/Elite Motorsports Chevrolet Camaro SS. She previously won Pro Stock titles with Chevrolet in 2014 and ’15.

Pro Stock competitors driving the Chevrolet Camaro SS won all 18 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series events. Since the integration of electronic fuel injection in the 2016 season, drivers of the Chevrolet Camaro SS have won 78 of the 80 races.

Earlier this month at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Enders procured the 200th victory in a Camaro in Pro Stock competition, and Chevrolet has recorded 319 Pro Stock wins since 1970. Enders is among nine Chevrolet drivers — Bo Butner (four), Greg Anderson (three), Jason Line (two), Deric Kramer (two), Jeg Coughlin Jr. (two), Chris McGaha (one), Matt Hartford (one) and Alex Laughlin (one) — who visited the winner’s circle.

The Chevrolet COPO Camaro, which celebrated its 50th anniversary season, carried Brina Frank, Tyler Cassil, Jeff Taylor, Andy Morris and Chip Johnson to Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series national event wins in Super Stock and Stock Eliminator. Justin Lamb, Jeff Lane and Jeff Strickland earned divisional Stock wins in their COPO Camaros.

Stephen Bell and David Kramer drove their COPO Camaros to victory in the SAM Factory Stock Showdown series.

Though not contributing to Manufacturers Cup points, 2017 Top Fuel champion Brittany Force registered two victories, eight No. 1 qualifier honors and reset the national elapsed time and speed records in her Chevrolet dragster. She finished third in the Top Fuel standings.

John Force Racing teammate Austin Prock, who posted a victory at Seattle in the Montana Brand/Rocky Mountain Twist Chevrolet dragster, was voted the Automobile Club of Southern California Road to the Future Award winner. Past winners of the rookie honor, which was established in 2002, include current Chevrolet drivers Hight, Brittany Force and Line.

The 2020 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series begins Feb. 7-9 with the Lucas Oil NHRA Winternationals at Auto Club Raceway in Pomona, California.

Leave a Reply