2020 Formula 1 calendar revealed

Melbourne to again open season
Melbourne to again open season

Formula One has released its calendar for 2020, with the first ever Vietnam Grand Prix set to be the third race of the year.

Vietnam is one of two new additions to the schedule for next season and will take place on April 5, shortly after a double-header of Australia and Bahrain. The Hanoi race will be followed by China before the second new addition, the returning Dutch Grand Prix, on May 3 to kick off the European leg of the season.

Thursday's announcement news confirms that the German Grand Prix has dropped off the calendar, with title sponsor Mercedes unwilling to continue financially supporting the event.

The only provisional date is the Italian Grand Prix on Sept. 6, with a star next to the Monza race pending contract approval. Negotiations are believed to be at an advanced stage and a contract extension is expected ahead of this year's Italian Grand Prix, which takes place next week.

Provisional 2020 F1 calendar

Date Grand Prix Venue
March 15 Australia Melbourne
March 22 Bahrain Sakhir
April 5 Vietnam Hanoi
April 19 China Shanghai
May 3 Netherlands Zandvoort
May 10 Spain Barcelona
May 24 Monaco Monaco
June 7 Azerbaijan Baku
June 14 Canada Montreal
June 28 France Paul Ricard
July 5 Austria Red Bull Ring
July 19 Great Britain Silverstone
August 2 Hungary Hungaroring
August 30 Belgium Spa
September 6 Italy** Monza
September 20 Singapore Singapore
September 27 Russia Sochi
October 11 Japan Suzuka
October 25 United States Austin
November 1 Mexico Mexico City
November 15 Brazil Interlagos
November 29 Abu Dhabi Abu Dhabi

** Provisional

Leave a Reply