Whincup breaks winning drought in Ipswich

Jamie Whincup
Jamie Whincup

Seven-time Supercars Champion Jamie Whincup scored a breakthrough win in the Century Batteries Ipswich SuperSprint at Queensland Raceway with a flawless performance reminiscent of his glory days.

Red Bull Holden Racing Team’s Whincup became just the fourth driver to finish in front of Scott McLaughlin this year on the way to his first win of 2019 after he snatched the lead on the first lap and his team backed it up with a faultless pit stop.

Milwaukee Racing’s Will Davison, who is best mates with Whincup away from the track, scored his first podium with the team and first since the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 in 2016, while Chaz Mostert picked up third.

It was Whincup’s first win since Sandown last year when he and co-driver Paul Dumbrell took victory, and also gave his team back-to-back wins following Shane van Gisbergen in Townsville.


Whincup has had four second places this year and six podiums, with today the first time he has converted to the top step.

“I have been reminded, especially in the last few months, that I haven’t had a win in a while," Said Whincup who sits sixth in the Championship.

A day after Whincup described the team as ‘in struggle street’ the performance was next to faultless.

“We have had a bit of a drought, it’s been a tough run, but we have been chipping away.

There is still a bit of a performance deficit there, but we are chipping away," he said.

“It’s also been a while since I have had a 1-2 with my good mate Will Davison here."

The arch rivals started side by side after McLaughlin scored another ARMOR ALL Pole Position for the year to surpass Peter Brock’s all-timer number of starts from the first grid box with 57, also bringing up 100 pole positions for Dick Johnson Racing, now known as Shell V-Power Racing.

Whincup leads
Whincup leads

With a great start Whincup muscled in on McLaughlin at the opening corner, first pushing him to the inside before executing a perfect criss-cross move.

Ultimately McLaughlin’s chance was shot when he lost valuable seconds in the pits with a jammed wheel nut while Whincup’s team had no such issues.

McLaughlin fell back through the field following the stop but fought back on the track for second before being overtaken by Davison and Mostert late in the race, finishing fourth ahead of Van Gisbergen.

“I am stoked. What a day," Davison said. “It has been a long time coming but it’s been a good weekend.

I am glad to get this monkey off the back now and hopefully there’s plenty more."

Cameron Waters, Lee Holdsworth, Nick Percat, Tim Slade and Andrew Heimgartner finished out the top ten.


1 88 Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Team +0.000s
2 23 Davison Milwaukee Racing +2.180
3 55 Mostert Supercheap Auto Racing +6.053
4 17 McLaughlin Shell V-Power Racing Team +8.732
5 97 Van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team +9.700
6 6 C. Waters Monster Energy Racing Team +20.829
7 5 Holdsworth The Bottle-O Racing Team +23.156
8 8 Percat Hare & Forbes Racing +25.467
9 9 Reynolds Penrite Racing +35.642
10 12 Coulthard Shell V-Power Racing Team +36.502
11 22 Courtney Mobil 1 MEGA Racing +37.838
12 7 Heimgartner Plus Fitness Racing +40.155
13 34 J. Golding Boost Mobile Racing +40.746
14 99 A. de Pasquale Penrite Racing +42.658
15 18 Winterbottom Irwin Racing +44.189
16 15 R. Kelly Castrol Racing +44.976
17 33 Caruso Boost Mobile Racing +45.976
18 78 S. De Silvestro Team Harvey Norman +46.322
19 35 T. Hazelwood Bigmate Racing +53.030
20 3 G. Jacobson RABBLE.club Racing +1:01.002
21 2 S. Pye Mobil 1 MEGA Racing +1 Lap
22 19 J. Le Brocq Truck Assist TEKNO Racing +1 Lap
NC 14 Slade Freightliner Racing +2 Laps
NC 21 M. Jones Team CoolDrive +2 Laps