Hughes hunts down F3 pole in France

Jake Hughes
Jake Hughes

Jake Hughes pulled off the ultimate final lap to steal pole position at the death in today’s FIA Formula 3 qualifying, at Le Castellet, France. Jehan Daruvala thought he had sealed the spot, but the Briton seared around the track on his final attempt to leap up the grid and earn HWA RACELAB their first ever F3 pole, with Robert Shwartzman in third.

Temperatures had cooled slightly since the morning session and Max Fewtrell was the first out onto the Circuit Paul Ricard, but it was PREMA who once again set the tone with Daruvala and Shwartzman topping the early timesheets.

Niko Kari had led Free Practice this morning, but his first time was only good enough for seventh. His second shot was more fruitful and he joined the PREMA duo in third. Daruvala was proving stern in first place and Christian Lundgaard twice saw attempts on the position fail, forcing him to settle for second at the midway point.

Shwartzman had a second attempt on his teammate’s time, as did Leonardo Pulcini, but once again the duo came up short behind the inspired Indian. Despite his domination out in front, it was proving incredibly tight further behind, with less than a second separating the top seventeen.

Having improved upon his own lap, Daruvala appeared confident out in front when the chequered flag was waved, after his Russian teammate had once again failed to lap quicker. With most of the cars having already passed the line, Hughes quietly went about his business and achieved a feat the others had not, by beating the Indian in every sector to earn his first pole position of the season.

Hughes and Daruvala finished ahead of Shwartzman, Pedro Piquet, Marcus Armstrong, Leonardo Pulcini, Jüri Vips, Bent Viscaal, Kari and Alex Peroni.

2019 FIA Formula 3 – Round 2 Qualifying

1 Jake Hughes HWA RACELAB 1:49.519 13
2 Jehan Daruvala PREMA Racing 1:49.606 12
3 Robert Shwartzman PREMA Racing 1:49.758 12
4 Pedro Piquet Trident 1:49.944 13
5 Marcus Armstrong PREMA Racing 1:50.066 12
6 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech Grand Prix 1:50.095 13
7 Juri Vips Hitech Grand Prix 1:50.128 13
8 Bent Viscaal HWA RACELAB 1:50.192 13
9 Niko Kari Trident 1:50.253 12
10 Alex Peroni Campos Racing 1:50.316 14
11 Logan Sargeant Carlin Buzz Racing 1:50.345 12
12 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1:50.378 12
13 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1:50.451 12
14 Max Fewtrell ART Grand Prix 1:50.456 13
15 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport 1:50.468 14
16 Ye Yifei Hitech Grand Prix 1:50.491 13
17 Lirim Zendeli Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:50.510 14
18 Felipe Drugovich Carlin Buzz Racing 1:50.549 11
19 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident 1:50.566 13
20 Simo Laaksonen MP Motorsport 1:50.585 12
21 Teppei Natori Carlin Buzz Racing 1:50.673 12
22 David Beckmann ART Grand Prix 1:50.716 13
23 Fabio Scherer Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:50.749 13
24 Raoul Hyman Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:50.791 12
25 Keyvan Andres HWA RACELAB 1:51.068 13
26 Sebastian Fernandez Campos Racing 1:51.272 14
27 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer Motorsport 1:51.987 12
28 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport 1:52.066 14
29 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1:54.226 13

Leave a Reply