Hamilton tops Verstappen in opening Monaco GP practice

Lewis Hamilton
Lewis Hamilton

Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton turned a lap of 1m12.106s to lead the opening practice session for the Monaco GP over Red Bull's Max Verstappen by just 0.059s.

Valtteri Bottas was a close third but then there is a gap back to the two Ferraris of Charles Leclerc and Sebastian Vettel who rounded out the top-5.

Vettel was blistering tires after only 16-laps on the inferior Ferrari.

They were the only drivers within 1-second of Hamilton.

FP1 was littered with small errors as drivers got dialled into the still-green Monaco track, particularly at the first turn at Sainte Devote, the run-off of which was graced by the likes of Sebastian Vettel, Valtteri Bottas, Lando Norris and Lance Stroll during the session.

Elsewhere, Verstappen ran on at Mirabeau, Gasly did well to keep his RB15 out of the barriers at the Swimming Pool as he saved a massive snap there, while Robert Kubica span his Williams FW42 out of Casino Square, and was lucky to escape with just a nerf on the barriers.

Meanwhile, in a bizarre turn of events, both Haas cars found themselves black flagged early in the session, with the team quick to reveal that both Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen had suffered radio and telemetry failure, with Haas then pragmatically asking the FIA to help call them in with the black flags. Although the necessary fixes limited both drivers’ track time, Magnussen eventually finished a strong eighth, with Grosjean in P10, with Alfa Romeo’s Kimi Raikkonen ending up as the meat in a Haas sandwich.

Practice 1 Results

1 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:12.106 +0.000s 46
2 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing Honda 1:12.165 +0.059s 34
3 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:12.178 +0.072s 42
4 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:12.467 +0.361s 25
5 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:12.823 +0.717s 35
6 10 Pierre Gasly Red Bull Racing Honda 1:13.170 +1.064s 40
7 27 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1:13.227 +1.121s 44
8 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 1:13.232 +1.126s 23
9 7 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo Racing Ferrari 1:13.363 +1.257s 38
10 8 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 1:13.379 +1.273s 22
11 3 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1:13.413 +1.307s 41
12 99 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing Ferrari 1:13.437 +1.331s 38
13 26 Daniil Kvyat Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda 1:13.731 +1.625s 39
14 23 Alexander Albon Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda 1:13.827 +1.721s 44
15 4 Lando Norris McLaren Renault 1:14.278 +2.172s 38
16 11 Sergio Perez Racing Point BWT Mercedes 1:14.566 +2.460s 39
17 63 George Russell Williams Mercedes 1:15.115 +3.009s 39
18 88 Robert Kubica Williams Mercedes 1:15.514 +3.408s 24
19 18 Lance Stroll Racing Point BWT Mercedes 1:16.135 +4.029s 36
20 55 Carlos Sainz McLaren Renault 3

Leave a Reply