Buemi tops Sanya practice

Rowland topped practice 1
Rowland topped practice 1

Nissan e.dams' claimed another fastest time in Sanya as Sebastien Buemi followed in his teammate's footsteps, setting a lap time of 1:07.288s in the second Practice session. Close behind was BMW i Andretti Motorsport's Antonio Felix da Costa with a time of 1:07.397s and Bumei's teammate Oliver Rowland third fastest with 1:07.453s.

With temperatures rising in Sanya's Haitang Bay, pre-race concerns that battery temperatures would prove problematic during the race started to look more valid, particularly after the sweltering race in Santiago played havoc with drivers' energy management strategy. Turn 3 caused trouble for Buemi, who collided with the wall after locking up. Over at Mahindra Racing, rookie Pascal Wehrlein was confined to the garage after glancing the wall coming out of Turn 6.
Practice 1 Summary

Ahead of the showdown in Sanya, Nissan e.dams' rookie driver Oliver Rowland was fastest in the first session of the day with a time of 1:07.561s, followed by BMW i Andretti Motorsport's Antonio Felix da Costa (1:07.625s) and his teammate Alex Sims (1:07.751s).

With a total of 15 cars all finishing the session within a second, the 2.360 km track in Haitang Bay saw a few drivers, including reigning champion Jean-Eric Vergne and former champ Lucas di Grassi, struggle to find the breaking points. Further trouble for the DS Techeetah drivers saw them repeatedly struggle on the brakes, hinting at issues in the Chinese team's technical set up in Sanya.

Free practice two result

1 Sebastien Buemi e.dams 1m07.288s 16
2 Antonio Felix da Costa BMW 0.109s 13
3 Oliver Rowland e.dams 0.165s 18
4 Jerome d'Ambrosio Mahindra 0.168s 15
5 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah 0.177s 15
6 Edoardo Mortara Venturi 0.240s 17
7 Mitch Evans Jaguar 0.290s 14
8 Lucas di Grassi Audi 0.290s 11
9 Felipe Nasr Dragon 0.359s 15
10 Jose Maria Lopez Dragon 0.369s 15
11 Sam Bird Virgin 0.427s 13
12 Stoffel Vandoorne HWA 0.520s 17
13 Felipe Massa Venturi 0.629s 15
14 Andre Lotterer DS Techeetah 0.664s 19
15 Daniel Abt Audi 0.761s 15
16 Robin Frijns Virgin 0.989s 12
17 Tom Dillmann NIO 1.128s 16
18 Oliver Turvey NIO 1.145s 16
19 Nelson Piquet Jr. Jaguar 1.373s 15
20 Alexander Sims BMW 1.444s 13
21 Gary Paffett HWA 1.952s 16
22 Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra 2.617s 8

Free practice one result

1 Oliver Rowland Nissan 1m07.561s 26
2 Antonio Felix da Costa BMW 0.064s 30
3 Alexander Sims BMW 0.190s 27
4 Lucas di Grassi Audi 0.191s 26
5 Sebastien Buemi Nissan 0.297s 26
6 Robin Frijns Audi 0.410s 24
7 Jean-Eric Vergne DS 0.458s 25
8 Jerome d'Ambrosio Mahindra 0.598s 27
9 Mitch Evans Jaguar 0.660s 22
10 Daniel Abt Audi 0.738s 28
11 Stoffel Vandoorne Venturi 0.741s 26
12 Edoardo Mortara Venturi 0.768s 29
13 Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra 0.962s 26
14 Gary Paffett Venturi 0.987s 29
15 Sam Bird Audi 0.989s 23
16 Felipe Nasr Penske 1.115s 25
17 Oliver Turvey NIO 1.260s 26
18 Nelson Piquet Jr. Jaguar 1.261s 29
19 Felipe Massa Venturi 1.567s 27
20 Jose Maria Lopez Penske 1.709s 25
21 Tom Dillmann NIO 1.724s 24
22 Andre Lotterer DS 2.093s 25

Leave a Reply