Sebring: Lopez puts Toyota on top again in practice 2

#17 Toyota of Lopez
#17 Toyota of Lopez

Still sandbagging, Toyota driver Jose Maria Lopez set the fastest time of the weekend so far in final practice for the Sebring 1000 Miles World Endurance Championship round.

After taking over the #7 TS050 Hybrid from Mike Conway, Lopez posted a best time of 1m41.448s in the 60-minute session, eclipsing his own best time set in Wednesday evening's second practice.

But it remains three tenths shy of Conway's unofficial record set last weekend in testing.

Fernando Alonso set the best time in the #8 Toyota, a 1m42.101s – 0.653s adrift of Lopez – as both Toyotas stretched their advantage over the non-hybrid LMP1 runners.

GTE Pro was led the #67 Ford at 1m57.730s with Andy Priaulx driving, while Porsche's pair of 911 RSRs filled the next two spots, Michael Christensen in the #92 narrowly shading Gianmaria Bruni in the #91 car, while Alessandro Pier Guidi put the best of the Ferraris in fourth.

Practice 3 Results

1 LMP1 M.Conway, K.Kobayashi, J.M.Lopez Toyota Gazoo Racing 1m41.448s 27
2 LMP1 S.Buemi, K.Nakajima, F.Alonso Toyota Gazoo Racing 0.653s 29
3 LMP1 H.Hedman, B.Hanley, R.van der Zande DragonSpeed 2.708s 22
4 LMP1 N.Jani, M.Beche, B.Senna Rebellion Racing 3.106s 22
5 LMP1 N.Berthon, T.Laurent, G.Menezes Rebellion Racing 3.259s 28
6 LMP1 M.Aleshin, V.Petrov, B.Hartley SMP Racing 4.951s 21
7 LMP1 S.Sarrazin, E.Orudzhev, S.Sirotkin SMP Racing 5.327s 17
8 LMP2 H-Pin Tung, G.Aubry, S.Richelmi Jackie Chan DC Racing 6.905s 24
9 LMP2 N.Lapierre, A.Negrao, P.Thiriet Signatech Alpine Matmut 7.046s 23
10 LMP2 F.van Eerd, G.van der Garde, Vries Racing Team Nederland 7.580s 27
11 LMP2 R.Gonzalez, P.Maldonado, A.Davidson DragonSpeed 7.613s 23
12 LMP2 F.Perrodo, M.Vaxiviere, L.Duval TDS Racing 7.885s 25
13 LMP2 D.H.Hansson, J.King, W.Stevens Jackie Chan DC Racing 7.905s 21
14 LMP2 E.Creed, R.Ricci, G.Jeannette Larbre Competition 9.329s 23
15 GTE Pro A.Priaulx, H.Tincknell, J.Bomarito Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK 16.282s 23
16 GTE Pro M.Christensen, K.Estre Porsche GT Team 16.604s 19
17 GTE Pro R.Lietz, G.Bruni Porsche GT Team 16.635s 22
18 GTE Pro A.P.Guidi, J.Calado, D.Serra AF Corse 16.917s 23
19 GTE Am C.Ried, J.Andlauer, M.Campbell Dempsey-Proton Racing 17.106s 20
20 GTE Pro S.Mucke, O.Pla, B.Johnson Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK 17.147s 21
21 GTE Pro D.Rigon, S.Bird, M.Molina AF Corse 17.340s 19
22 GTE Pro M.Tomczyk, N.Catsburg, A.Sims BMW Team MTEK 17.416s 24
23 GTE Pro A.Farfus, A.F.da Costa, B.Spengler BMW Team MTEK 17.647s 20
24 GTE Pro J.Magnussen, A.Garcia, M.Rockenfeller Corvette Racing 17.682s 12
25 GTE Am G.Roda, G.Roda, M.Cairoli Dempsey-Proton Racing 17.812s 22
26 GTE Am J.Bergmeister, P.Lindsey, E.Perfetti Team Project 1 18.157s 21
27 GTE Pro M.Sorensen, N.Thiim, D.Turner Aston Martin Racing 18.161s 27
28 GTE Pro A.Lynn, M.Martin Aston Martin Racing 18.213s 22
29 GTE Am T.Flohr, F.Castellacci, G.Fisichella Spirit of Race 18.251s 24
30 GTE Am S.Yoluc, J.Adam, C.Eastwood TF Sport 18.486s 22
31 GTE Am M.Ishikawa, O.Beretta, E.Cheever MR Racing 18.681s 21
32 GTE Am M.Wainwright, B.Barker, T.Preining Gulf Racing 18.981s 24
33 GTE Am L.P.-Companc, M.Cressoni, M.Griffin Clearwater Racing 19.131s 24
34 GTE Am P.D.Lana, P.Lamy, M.Lauda Aston Martin Racing 20.159s 13

Leave a Reply