Vettel leads Ferrari 1-2 in final Spa practice

Vettel quickest, but......
Vettel quickest, but……

While Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen ran 1-2 for Ferrari in the final practice for the Belgian GP at Spa, they set their times on Super Soft tires.

Third quick, and only 0.137s behind was Lewis Hamilton's Mercedes on the harder soft tires. So early predictions are for Hamilton to take pole in 2 hours time.

Valtteri Bottas ended the session in fourth place for Mercedes, but is set to face an investigation from the stewards after an incident between the Finn and McLaren’s Stoffel Vandoorne in the final 10 minutes of the session.

Vandoorne came across Bottas, who was on an outlap, on the Kemmel Straight, and attempted to move to the right, only to be squeezed into the grass. Vandoorne spun on the wet grass and across the track before coming to rest in the barrier on the right-hand side, resulting in a red flag.

While Bottas explained over team radio he had not seen Vandoorne, the stewards quickly confirmed they would be investigating the incident after the session.

Red Bull drivers Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo could only manage a late flying lap in on the Supersoft tyre, leaving them fifth and sixth respectively. Sauber’s Charles Leclerc led the midfield in seventh, his best time coming on the Soft compound tyre, with Sergio Perez taking eighth for Force India. Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez rounded out the top 10 positions.


1 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:42.661 +0.000s 13
2 7 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:42.724 +0.063s 15
3 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:42.798 +0.137s 10
4 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:43.464 +0.803s 13
5 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing Tag Heuer 1:44.048 +1.387s 10
6 3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing Tag Heuer 1:44.479 +1.818s 13
7 16 Charles Leclerc Sauber Ferrari 1:44.963 +2.302s 12
8 11 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 1:45.341 +2.680s 10
9 27 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1:45.464 +2.803s 17
10 31 Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 1:45.485 +2.824s 13
11 9 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 1:45.536 +2.875s 11
12 8 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 1:45.814 +3.153s 12
13 55 Carlos Sainz Renault 1:45.925 +3.264s 13
14 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 1:46.087 +3.426s 12
15 10 Pierre Gasly Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda 1:46.182 +3.521s 16
16 28 Brendon Hartley Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda 1:46.259 +3.598s 17
17 18 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 1:46.502 +3.841s 10
18 35 Sergey Sirotkin Williams Mercedes 1:46.630 +3.969s 11
19 14 Fernando Alonso McLaren Renault 1:46.942 +4.281s 16
20 2 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Renault 1:47.061 +4.400s 14

Leave a Reply