Morbidelli out, Bradl in for Sachsenring

Stefan Bradl will make his first MotoGP start since 2016 after being called up to replace in the injured Franco Morbidelli for the remainder of his home German Grand Prix.

Morbidelli, who suffered a left hand fracture at Sachsenring, made the decision to withdraw after completing 19 laps in this morning's FP1, when he was 22nd fastest and 1.937s from Andrea Iannone.

Bradl, the 2011 Moto2 world champion, spent three seasons in MotoGP at LCR Honda, claiming one pole and one podium, before switching to Forward Yamaha and then Aprilia Gresini in 2015.

Bradl departed MotoGP after the 2016 season on the RS-GP, racing for Ten Kate Honda in last year's World Superbike championship.

With no race seat in place for 2018, Bradl signed up as a Honda MotoGP test and wild-card rider and is thus familiar with the RC213V.

The German fans will now have a home rider to cheer in the premier-class, after second place for Jonas Folger one year ago.

Morbidelli is tipped to join the new SIC Yamaha team in MotoGP next season, with Fabio Quartararo now the hot rumor to complete the satellite Yamaha line-up.

Practice 1 Times

1 Andrea Iannone Suzuki Suzuki 1m21.442s 0.000s 24
2 Marc Marquez Honda Honda 1m21.832s 0.390s 27
3 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 1m21.964s 0.522s 23
4 Maverick Vinales Yamaha Yamaha 1m22.152s 0.710s 26
5 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati 1m22.261s 0.819s 22
6 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati Ducati 1m22.337s 0.895s 23
7 Jack Miller Pramac Ducati Ducati 1m22.415s 0.973s 22
8 Jorge Lorenzo Ducati Ducati 1m22.422s 0.980s 20
9 Scott Redding Aprilia Aprilia 1m22.453s 1.011s 22
10 Johann Zarco Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 1m22.490s 1.048s 22
11 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda Honda 1m22.513s 1.071s 25
12 Alex Rins Suzuki Suzuki 1m22.554s 1.112s 22
13 Alvaro Bautista Aspar Ducati Ducati 1m22.591s 1.149s 23
14 Dani Pedrosa Honda Honda 1m22.605s 1.163s 25
15 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Aprilia 1m22.674s 1.232s 19
16 Tito Rabat Avintia Ducati Ducati 1m22.700s 1.258s 20
17 Bradley Smith KTM KTM 1m22.746s 1.304s 23
18 Pol Espargaro KTM KTM 1m22.866s 1.424s 19
19 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda Honda 1m22.957s 1.515s 22
20 Hafizh Syahrin Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 1m22.969s 1.527s 22
21 Thomas Luthi MVDS Honda Honda 1m23.350s 1.908s 23
22 Franco Morbidelli MVDS Honda Honda 1m23.379s 1.937s 19
23 Karel Abraham Aspar Ducati Ducati 1m23.393s 1.951s 22
24 Mika Kallio KTM KTM 1m23.557s 2.115s 19
25 Xavier Simeon Avintia Ducati Ducati 1m23.578s 2.136s 24