Newgarden Nominated For ESPYs Best Driver

Josef Newgarden
Josef Newgarden looking a bit sickly in this official IndyCar portrait

In addition to chasing a victory this weekend in the KOHLER Grand Prix at Road America, Josef Newgarden is carrying the INDYCAR banner for this year’s ESPYS, the annual awards show honoring the best athletes and moments from the past sporting year.

Newgarden, the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series champion and a two-time race winner this year, is nominated in the Best Driver category along with NSACAR’s Martin Truex Jr., Formula One’s Lewis Hamilton and NHRA’s Brittany Force.

“It’s an honor to be a part of this year’s ESPY nominees," Newgarden said. “I’m happy to be representing INDYCAR amongst a list of incredible athletes in the Best Driver category."

Newgarden will join a cast of who’s who from the sports world in ABC’s live broadcast from Los Angeles on Wednesday, July 18 (8 p.m. ET). Danica Patrick, who closed her groundbreaking driving career at the Indianapolis 500 on May 27, is hosting the ESPYS.

“This nomination wouldn’t be possible without the hard work from Team Penske," Newgarden added. “Their efforts put us in a place to win the Verizon IndyCar Series championship last year and this nomination is as much about them as anything. I can’t wait to get to LA and attend the event."

Newgarden follows in a long line of Indy car drivers to be nominated for Best Driver honors, including Nigel Mansell, Al Unser Jr., Jimmy Vasser, Juan Pablo Montoya, Buddy Lazier, Gil de Ferran, Sam Hornish Jr., Dan Wheldon, Helio Castroneves, Dario Franchitti, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Tony Kanaan, Will Power, Scott Dixon, Alexander Rossi and Simon Pagenaud. Mansell, Unser Jr., Vasser and Hunter-Reay are all past winners.

Fans can vote for their favorites in all categories here.

Leave a Reply