Mostert breaks Audi domination at Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour

Chaz Mostert
Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert has taken the Allan Simonsen pole award trophy ahead of tomorrow’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour with a blistering lap in the Top 10 Shootout. (See video of lap at bottom)

The BMW Team Schnitzer driver, who shares the M6 GT3 with co-drivers Augusto Farfus and Marco Wittmann, lapped the 6.2km Mount Panorama circuit in a 2:01.934, holding off the charging Audi of Kelvin van der Linde who was unable to better Mostert’s time.

Van der Linde’s lap, which was only 0.235s slower than Mostert’s, was good enough to secure the South African Audi gun a front row start for tomorrow’s race in second, aboard the #22 Jamec Pem Racing Audi he shares with Garth Tander and Frederich Vervisch.

“We were close last year in the Pro-Am entry but it’s pretty special to go to the pointy end and actually get the pole this time with Schnitzer Motorsport and the BMW Motorsport group," said Mostert.

“For me it’s amazing, the boys gave enough trust in me to qualify the car and we made the car better and better over practice. It’s a lot of hard work to fly a car all the way from Germany to put it on the pole so it’s fantastic."

Bathurst Pits
Bathurst Pits

The sister Audi of Christopher Haase, Christopher Mies and Markus Winkelhock will start from third on the grid, with Haase setting a 2:02.434 as being the fifth car out on track.

Reigning Supercars Champion Jamie Whincup had a tough day in the Mercedes AMG and will start from grid spot 16 for tomorrow’s race.

Lee Holdsworth became a casualty in qualifying when he spun his Audi R8 on the way up the mountain, causing a lengthy red flag. Despite the heavy crash the team has declared the car a starter for tomorrow, starting from 20th on the grid.

Aside from Whincup missing the shootout, the other major news of the day was the elimination of the Steven Richards Motorsport BMW after being found guilty of an unspecified technical breach.

Tomorrow’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour begins at 5:45am local time, with Live coverage across Australia kicking off at 5:30am on channel 7mate.

Full Bathurst 12 Hour starting grid:

Pos Num Team Drivers Car Time
1 43 BMW Team Schnitzer C. Mostert
A. Farfus
M. Wittmann
BMW M6 GT3 2:01.9340
2 22 Jamec Pem Racing K. van der Linde
G. Tander
F. Vervisch
Audi R8 LMS 2:02.1697
3 74 Jamec Pem Racing C. Haase
M. Winkelhock
Audi R8 LMS 2:02.4344
4 777 Buik Motorworks L. Youlden
T. Enge
Y. Shahin
Lamborghini R-EX 2:03.2352
5 47 YNA Autosport S. McLaughlin
A. Watson
A. West
McLaren 650S GT3 2:03.3481
6 55 Strakka Racing C. Waters
D. Fumanelli
N. Leventis
L. Williamson
Mercedes-AMG GT3 2:03.4181
7 37 Audi Sport Team WRT R. Frijns
S. Leonard
D. Vanthoor
Audi R8 LMS GT3 2:03.4485
8 58 YNA Autosport S. van Gisbergen
C. Lowndes
C. Ledogar
McLaren 650S GT3 2:03.6690
9 17 Bentley Team M-Sport S. Kane
G. Smith
J. Gounon
Bentley Continental GT3 2:03.7475
10 12 Competition Motorsposrt M. Campbell
D. Calvert-Jones
P. Long
A. Davison
Porsche 911 GT3-R 2:05.1117
11 56 Mercedes-AMG Team Strakka Racing M.Gotz
Mercedes-AMG GT3 2:03.0857
12 82 Internatioal Motorsport M.Halliday
Audi R8 LMS 2:03.1625
13 32 Lago Racing R.Lago
Lamborghini R-EX GT3 2:03.3660
14 18 Bentley Team M-Sport Maxime Soulet Bentley Continental GT3 2:03.3817
15 75 Mercedes-AMG Team SunEnergy1 Racing T. Vautier
Mercedes-AMG GT3 2:03.4383
16 69 Audi Sport Customer Racing A.Walsh
Audi R8 LMS 2:03.4797
17 991 Craft Bamboo Racing L.Vanthoor
Porsche 911 GT3 R 2:03.5313
18 39 Audi Sport Team WRT P.Lamy
Audi R8 LMS 2:03.5409
19 9 Audi Sport Customer Racing M.Cini
Audi R8 LMS 2:03.6538
20 3 Audi Sport Customer Racing Daniel Gaunt Audi R8 LMS 2:03.6603
21 8 Scott Taylor Motorsport C.Baird
Mercedes-AMG GT3 2:03.6936
22 19 Nineteen Corp P/L D.Reynolds
Mercedes-AMG GT3 2:03.6959
23 29 Trofeo Motorsport J.Manolios
Lamborghini Huracan 2:03.7569
24 11 Objective Racing T.Slade
McLaren 650S 2:04.2409
25 540 Black Swan Racing J.Bleekemolen
Porsche 911 GT3 R 2:04.2721
26 911 Manthey-Racing R.Dumas
Porsche 911 2:04.5779
27 91 MARC Cars Australia K.Kassulke
MARC II V8 2:06.1184
28 67 MARC Cars Australia Morgan Haber MARC II V8 2:06.5310
29 66 Daytona Sportscars Ben Schoots Dodge Viper 2:06.5967
30 4 Grove Motorsport Pty Ltd Ben Barker Porsche GT3 Cup 2:08.0716
31 23 Team Carrera Cup Asia P.Tresidder
C.van der Drift
Porsche 991 2:09.2162
32 65 Daytona Sportscars D.Thomas
Daytona Coupe 2:09.7100
33 54 MARC Cars Australia P.Morris
MARC II V8 2:10.2220
34 95 Eastgate Engineering Bryce Fullwood MARC Focus V8 2:10.5471
35 93 MARC Cars Australia Garry Jacobson MARC Mazda V8 2:11.0258
36 21 JFC – Carter Grange D.Stutterd
Porsche 911 2:11.7320
37 85 Wall Racing C.Espenlaub
Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 2:12.0096
38 96 MARC Cars Australia J.Goodacre
MARC Focus V8 2:12.5664
39 30 Boat Works Racing Aaron Seton BMW M4 GT4 2:16.2626
40 44 BMW Team SRM X.West
BMW M4 GT4 2:16.9769
41 13 RHC-Lawrence/Strom (MarcGT) B.Strom
BMW M4 GT4 2:17.2531
42 49 KTM / M Motorsport Glen Wood KTM X-Bow GT4 2:17.4416
43 46 Prosport Performance GABH J.Viebahn
Porsche Cayman PRO4 2:18.0965
44 48 M Motorsport P/L J.McMillan
KTM X-Bow GT4 2:18.2490
45 77 Ginetta Australia Mike Simpson Ginetta G55 2:18.2649
46 40 On Track Motorsport G.Mennell
Porsche 997 GT3 Cup 2:19.4251
47 33 MARC Cars Australia Rob Thomson MARC Mazda V8 2:20.8149
48 88 Ginetta Australia W.Tregurtha
Ginetta G55 2:22.1424
ROG 100 BMW Team SRM S. Richards
T. Glock
P. Eng
BMW M6 GT3 2:02.665

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :