It’s Ty Gibbs’ Party at Pocono

Ty Gibbs, driver of the #18 Monster/Terrible Herbst/ORCA Toyota, rolled to the win in the the General Tire #AnywhereisPossible 200 for the ARCA Menards Series at Pocono Raceway
Ty Gibbs, driver of the #18 Monster/Terrible Herbst/ORCA Toyota, rolled to the win in the the General Tire #AnywhereisPossible 200 for the ARCA Menards Series at Pocono Raceway
Adam Glanzman/ARCA Racing

Once Ty Gibbs got out front, it was game over.

The 17-year-old North Carolina driver dominated the General Tire #ANYWHEREISPOSSIBLE 200 at Pocono Raceway Friday en route to his third career ARCA Menards Series win.

To get the victory, Gibbs out-ran runner up Chandler Smith and third-place Sam Mayer, who were celebrating their 18th and 17th birthdays, respectively, on race day.

Two weeks after he held off Mayer at Ohio’s Toledo Speedway in the ARCA Menards Series East, Gibbs was even better in his No. Monster/Terrible Herbst/ORCA Toyota; his margin of victory on the 2.5-mile tri-oval was 2.314 seconds. It was Gibbs’ sixth win in the ARCA Menards, East and West series in just 21 starts.

Gibbs is also the 28th consecutive different ARCA Menards winner at Pocono, a streak that dates back to 2006 and includes current NASCAR Cup Series drivers Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Joey Logano, Ty Dillon, Chase Elliott and Cole Custer.

Chandler Smith, who was fastest in practice earlier in the day, passed Mayer late to take the second spot but could not run down Gibbs.

[adinserter name="GOOGLE AD"]Bret Holmes finished fourth and championship points leader Michael Self was fifth.

Hailie Deegan, Derek Griffith, Drew Dollar, Ryan Huff and Scott Melton rounded out the top 10.

Self was able to improvef his points lead to 15 on Dollar and 16 on Deegan after four races. Holmes, who picked up his second straight top five in ARCA Menards Series is 24 back of Self.

The General Tire #ANYWHEREISPOSSIBLE 200 aired live on FS1.

The ARCA Menards Series will be back on track for the Calypso Lemonade 200 at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis on Friday, July 3, 2020.


Fin St # Driver Sponsor / Owner Car Laps Behind
1 18 Ty Gibbs Monster-Terrible Herbst-ORCA (Coy Gibbs) Toyota 80 0.000s
2 20 Chandler Smith JBL Audio (Billy Venturini) Toyota 80 2.314
3 21 Sam Mayer Chevy Accessories (Maury Gallagher) Chevrolet 80 7.862
4 23 Bret Holmes Holmes Excavation (Stacy Holmes) Chevrolet 80 9.222
5 25 Michael Self Sinclair Lubricants (Cathy Venturini) Toyota 80 13.218
6 15 Drew Dollar Lynx Capital-Dollar Construction (Bill Venturini) Ford 80 23.212
7 4 Hailie Deegan Monster (David Gilliland) Ford 80 23.213
8 22 Derek Griffith Original Gourmet Lollipops (Chad Bryant) Ford 80 30.924
9 10 Ryan Huff HB Hankins Inc-Land & Coates (Andy Hillenburg) Ford 79 1 Lap
10 69 Scott Melton Melton McFadden Insurance Agency (Bill Kimmel) Toyota 79 1 Lap
11 12 Ed Pompa Green Renewable Inc-Double H Ranch (Michelle Hillenburg) Chevrolet 77 3 Laps
12 82 Sean Corr Enrichment Services (John Corr) Chevrolet 75 5 Laps
13 48 Brad Smith (Brad Smith) Chevrolet 72 8 Laps
14 97 Jason Kitzmiller ALL Construction Inc (Codie Rohrbaugh) Chevrolet 54 26 Laps
15 17 Tanner Gray Ford Performance (David Gilliland) Ford 37 43 Laps
16 11 Clay Greenfield Rackley Roofing (Andy Hillenburg) Ford 29 51 Laps
17 8 Russ Lane NASA Central Region High Perf Driver (Russ Lane) Toyota 28 52 Laps
18 06 Don Thompson (Wayne Peterson) Chevrolet 11 69 Laps
19 01 Tommy Vigh, Jr. Fast Track High Performance Driving (Michelle Hillenburg) Chevrolet 9 71 Laps
20 46 Thad Moffitt Richard Petty's Performance Plus (Bo LeMastus) Ford 2 78 Laps

Leave a Reply