Brazilian V8 Stock Cars: Home pole-position for Rubens Barrichello

Rubens Barrichello
Rubens Barrichello

Rubens Barrichello will start the Million Reais Race from pole position. The 44-year old driver set a lap time of 1min38s958, taking his second pole this season. The competitor from the Medley Full Time team, who won the last race in Cascavel, tries to clinch his second victory in the millionaire Brazilian V8 Stock Car race.

"It is my second pole-position in the Million Reais Race, so it is a great joy. To know that all the work that the team have been doing is paying off, with the car getting better and better, is really satisfying. I love Interlagos, and it is like the track and I could understand each other", he said.

Barrichello charges
Barrichello charges

Alongside Barrichello, Ricardo Mauricio shares the first row of as the only two drivers on the grid who made it to win the Million Reais Race and the championship. Rubens did both in 2014, while the Eurofarma-RC driver won the race back in 2010 and clinched the title in 2008 and 2013.

Current champion and second-placed in the standings, Marcos Gomes will start third setting the exact same lap time as Mauricio – 1min39s101. Felipe Fraga starts fourth, with Allam Khodair fifth.

Previous winners of the Million Reais Race, Thiago Camilo starts seventh, one spot ahead of Ricardo Zonta. Valdeno Brito is 11th on the grid. The race will be 45 minutes plus one lap long. The push-to-pass operation will last 45 seconds with a 60-second interval; the delay between pushing the button and engaging the system will be 12 seconds long.

Race starts 10am this Sunday (2pm GMT) and will be broadcast live by Globo TV.

Qualifying – Results:
1-) 111 Rubens Barrichello (Full Time Sports) – 1min38s958
2-) 90 Ricardo Mauricio (Eurofarma RC) – 1min39s101
3-) 80 Marcos Gomes (Cimed Racing) – 1min39s101
4-) 88 Felipe Fraga (Cimed Racing) – 1min39s153
5-) 18 Allam Khodair (Full Time Sports) – 1min39s214
6-) 4 Julio Campos (C2 Axalta Racing) – 1min39s252
7-) 21 Thiago Camilo (Ipiranga-RCM) – 1min39s265
😎 10 Ricardo Zonta (Shell Racing) – 1min39s289
9-) 70 Diego Nunes (Unịo Quimica Racing) Р1min39s350
10-) 65 Max Wilson (Eurofarma RC) – 1min39s441
11-) 77 Valdeno Brito (TMG Racing) – 1min39s488
12-) 0 Caca Bueno (Red Bull Racing – 1min39s531
13-) 28 Galid Osman (Ipiranga-RCM) – 1min39s557
14-) 29 Daniel Serra (Red Bull Racing) – 1min39s589
15-) 11 Cesar Ramos (RZ Motorsport) – 1min39s607
16-) 46 Vitor Genz (Eisenbahn Racing Team) – 1min39s616
17-) 73 Sergio Jimenez (Cavaleiro Sports) – 1min39s635
18-) 63 Nestor Girolami (Eisenbahn Racing Team) – 1min39s641
19-) 83 Gabriel Casagrande (C2 Axalta Racing) – 1min39s674
20-) 3 Bia Figueiredo (União Química Racing) – 1min39s730
21-) 26 Raphael Abbate (Hot Car Competi̵̤es) Р1min39s766
22-) 110 Felipe Lapenna (Hot Car Competi̵̤es) Р1min39s817
23-) 9 Guga Lima (TMG Racing) – 1min39s898
24-) 12 Lucas Foresti (Full Time-ProGP) – 1min40s033
25-) 56 Danilo Dirani (RZ Motorsport) – 1min40s085
26-) 5 Denis Navarro (Vogel Motorsport) – 1min40s098
27-) 8 Rafael Suzuki (Vogel Motorsport) – 1min40s153
28-) 51 Atila Abreu (Shell Racing) – 1min40s302
29-) 74 Popo Bueno (Cavaleiro Sports) – 1min40s364

Leave a Reply