DTM: Timo Scheider wins the race, Pascal Wehrlein the title

From left: Green, Scheider and Martin
From left: Green, Scheider and Martin

The battle for the DTM title has been decided: while Timo Scheider had a solitary drive to victory in race one at the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg and crossed the finish line as the undisputed winner, eighth place was enough for Pascal Wehrlein to be crowned the youngest ever DTM champion in history of the popular touring car series.

The Mercedes-Benz driver, who will be celebrating his 21st birthday on Sunday, is beyond reach in the lead of the drivers' standings with a total of 169 points. On the radio, Wehrlein expressed his emotions after crossing the finish line and cheered loudly. "This simply is an incredible feeling," Wehrlein said at the finish. “Now, the pressure has gone and I am simply overjoyed."

Mattias Ekstrom, Edoardo Mortara and Bruno Spengler, the remaining challengers for the title, were unable to postpone the decision to Sunday: Ekstrom finished ninth after the turbulent race while his fellow Audi driver Mortara retired after 17 laps and Spengler's race was over after 20 laps.

Wehrlein 2016 DTM champion
Wehrlein 2016 DTM champion

Behind race winner Timo Scheider, the German's fellow Audi driver Jamie Green finished second. Third place went to Maxime Martin, who had started the race from pole position with his BMW M4 DTM, but already lost the lead to eventual race winner Scheider on the opening lap and then had to allow Green to get past as well.

In the DTM finale at Hockenheim, two titles are still at stake: in the teams' standings, the gooix/Original Teile Mercedes-AMG team is leading with 225 points from BMW Team RMG (198 points). Prior to the final race of the season, BMW is leading the manufacturers' standings. In the 17 races held so far, the brand from Munich has scored 583 points, while Audi and Mercedes-Benz are at a total of 527 and 520 points respectively.

Result Race 1 after 26 Laps:

Pos Driver Team Car Behind
1 Timo Scheider Phoenix Audi 42m27.725s
2 Jamie Green Rosberg Audi 2.875s
3 Maxime Martin RMG BMW 3.756s
4 Paul Di Resta HWA Mercedes 4.865s
5 Mike Rockenfeller Phoenix Audi 11.708s
6 Marco Wittmann RMG BMW 15.768s
7 Tom Blomqvist RBM BMW 16.972s
8 Pascal Wehrlein HWA Mercedes 22.034s
9 Mattias Ekstrom Abt Audi 23.719s
10 Maximilian Gotz Mucke Mercedes 24.137s
11 Antonio Felix da Costa Schnitzer BMW 25.405s
12 Christian Vietoris HWA Mercedes 25.597s
13 Daniel Juncadella Mucke Mercedes 26.780s
14 Miguel Molina Abt Audi 31.566s
15 Nico Muller Rosberg Audi 32.108s
16 Martin Tomczyk Schnitzer BMW 41.299s
17 Lucas Auer ART Mercedes 43.679s
18 Timo Glock MTEK BMW 2 Laps
19 Bruno Spengler MTEK BMW 6 Laps
Edoardo Mortara Abt Audi Retired
Robert Wickens HWA Mercedes Retired
Augusto Farfus RBM BMW Retired
Gary Paffett ART Mercedes Retired
Adrien Tambay Abt Audi Retired

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com