Team USA Scholarship Winners Named

Young Americans Dakota Dickerson and Michai Stephens were named winners of the 2015 Team USA Scholarships and will travel to England later this month to compete in a pair of famous international events to further their racing careers.

The pair will represent their country in the Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch and the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone, driving Ray chassis prepared by Cliff Dempsey Racing and boasting the traditional red-white-and-blue U.S. colors.

Dickerson, 18 from San Diego, and Stephens, 23 from Evanston, Ill., earned the scholarships from a field of 12 nominees following a "shootout" last month at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif., that included an assessment comprised of a variety of on- and off-track activities.

The Team USA Scholarship is celebrating 25 years of providing opportunities for American race car drivers. Past recipients include Indy car drivers Jimmy Vasser, Bryan Herta, Buddy Rice, Josef Newgarden, JR Hildebrand and Conor Daly.

Leave a Reply