Pigot wins again in Toronto

Spencer Pigot

By Brian Carroccio

Juncos Racing's Spencer Pigot won for the second straight day on the Streets of Toronto in Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires. On a day when numerous challengers were unable to handle the very wet conditions, Pigot started from pole, and led flag-to-flag. It was the fourth win of 2015 for the driver of the #12 Mazda/Doug Mockett & Company/Rising Star Racing/The Stutz/BAD/OMP entry.

Pigot's win also was the third of the weekend for Juncos, as Ontario-native Garett Grist won this morning's Pro Mazda Race 2.

Jack Harvey finished 2nd today at Toronto

Like Pigot, series championship leader Jack Harvey didn't put a wheel wrong. For the second straight, Harvey was runner-up, this time three seconds behind the American. It was the sixth 2nd place finish for the driver of the #42 Racing Steps Foundation/Curb Records entry in 10 2015 races.

Despite numerous offs, which included a spin coming to the green flag, Carlin's Ed Jones was the final car on the lead lap in third. Belardi Auto Racing's Juan Piedrahita was fourth two laps down.

SPM's R.C. Enerson rounded out the top-five. The New Port Richey, FL native of course had a scary accident in yesterday's race. However, the SPM team rallied to rebuild the #7 Lucas Oil/Curb Records car in time for today's race. Despite sustaining damage in a spin, Enerson rallied to score a top-5, three laps down.

FIA Formula E championship leader Nelson Piquet, Jr., who was taken out yesterday by Enerson while leading, was once again running strong today. The Brazilian, filling in for Carlin regular Max Chilton this weekend and won pole position for yesterday's race, was taken out once again, this time by Juncos' Kyle Kaiser.

Next up for Indy Lights will be the historic Milwaukee Mile next month.

Full results


# Name Laps FL Fast Lap Diff Gap Led ST Team
1 12 Spencer Pigot 30 11 1:22.847 0.0000 30 1 Juncos Racing
2 42 Jack Harvey 30 11 1:23.161 3.0616 3.0616 0 5 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
3 11 Ed Jones 30 21 1:23.298 66.1511 63.0895 0 2 Carlin
4 5 Juan Piedrahita 28 17 1:24.175 2L 1L 0 8 Belardi Auto Racing
5 7 RC Enerson 27 4 1:23.293 3L -98.9763 0 3 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
6 51 Shelby Blackstock 25 10 1:25.541 5L 2L 0 7 Andretti Autosport
7 4 Felix Serralles 25 10 1:23.190 5L 34.5473 0 6 Belardi Auto Racing
8 14 Nelson Piquet Jr 19 15 1:22.899 10L 5L 0 4 Carlin
9 18 Kyle Kaiser 18 17 1:22.488 11L -345.3800 0 9 Juncos Racing
10 77 Scott Anderson 17 11 1:27.329 13L 1L 0 10 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
11 71 Ethan Ringel 12 4 1:25.572 17L 4L 0 11 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

Leave a Reply