Montoya chases Triple Crown of his own

Juan Montoya

American Pharaoh became the 12th horse to claim horse racing's Triple Crown on June 6. Later this summer Juan Pablo Montoya will try to become the second driver to complete Indy car racing's Triple Crown.

Prior to American Pharaoh’s accomplishment, Affirmed was the last Triple Crown winner in 1978 – the same year that Al Unser won the Indianapolis 500 and the 500-mile races at Pocono Raceway and Ontario (Calif.) to become the only driver in the same calendar year to win the three-set race that was part of Indy car racing from 1971-80. After Ontario closed in 1980, it was replaced by Michigan International Speedway and the Triple Crown continued until 1989.

For 2015, the Verizon IndyCar Series schedule features three 500-milers with the next 500-mile race, the MAVTV 500 at Auto Club Speedway, scheduled for June 27. The final 500-mile race, the ABC Supply 500 at Pocono Raceway, will take place on Aug. 23.

Montoya earned his second Indianapolis 500 Mile Race victory on May 24 in the No. 2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet. He's won two of the last three 500 Indy car 500-mile races, taking the Pocono race last summer.

Leave a Reply