Tuesday IndyCar Barber Test – Morning Results

Rookie Stefano Coletti turning heads – 2nd quick in morning session

Will Power, who has won twice at Barber Motorsports Park and was the Verizon P1 Award winner for the 2014 Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama, posted the quickest lap of the morning session — and of the two-day Verizon IndyCar Series Promoter Test — on the 2.38-mile, 17-turn road course.

The reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion, driving the No. 1 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, had a best lap of 1 minute, 7.3118 seconds. That's a full second quicker than his 2014 pole-winning time on Firestone alternate tires. Scott Dixon holds the track record with a lap of 1:06.7750 in Round 1 of qualifying in 2013, also on Firestone alternate tires that offer more grip and under cooler ambient temperatures that also provide more track grip.

Twenty-one cars turned 680 laps in the session as the ambient temperature is forecast to reach 80 degrees. A 2-7 p.m. (ET) session will wrap up the initial all-teams test of the aerodynamic bodywork kits supplied by Chevrolet and Honda in preparation for the season-opening Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg on March 29.

Verizon IndyCar Series rookie Stefano Coletti, a GP2 series veteran, was second quick (1:07.5224) in the No. 4 KV Racing Technology Chevrolet. Teammate Sebastien Bourdais, driving the No. 11 team Hydroxycut-KVSH Racing car, was third (1:07.5829). Graham Rahal in the No. 15 Mi-Jack car for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (1:07.6992) was the quickest Honda driver.

"There is a lot of difference between the old car and the new one. Obviously, there is a lot more downforce and it's a lot quicker," said Coletti, who has driven both the Dallara IR-12 aero package and the new platform. "For me, the first time here and I really like this track. It's a lot of fun to drive, demanding and physical. We've been working on getting the proper baseline set-up so I could feel good in the car and started pushing today."


Pos Driver Team Car Time Behind Laps
1 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.3118s 0.0000s 36
2 Stefano Coletti KV Racing Technology Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.5224s 0.2106s 31
3 Sebastien Bourdais KVSH Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.5829s 0.2711s 20
4 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 1m07.6992s 0.3874s 37
5 Josef Newgarden CFH Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.7204s 0.4086s 23
6 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.8332s 0.5214s 53
7 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1m07.8654s 0.5536s 22
8 Carlos Munoz Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m07.9882s 0.6764s 38
9 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m08.0534s 0.7416s 48
10 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m08.1020s 0.7902s 43
11 James Jakes Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1m08.1188s 0.8070s 32
12 Jack Hawksworth AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Honda 1m08.1659s 0.8541s 41
13 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m08.2049s 0.8931s 33
14 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m08.2638s 0.9520s 25
15 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m08.2732s 0.9614s 24
16 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m08.2889s 0.9771s 34
17 Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1m08.3547s 1.0429s 29
18 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Honda 1m08.4308s 1.1190s 30
19 Luca Filippi CFH Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m08.5097s 1.1979s 20
20 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m08.5519s 1.2401s 28
21 Gabby Chaves Bryan Herta Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m08.8339s 1.5221s 33

Leave a Reply