Australia GP: Rosberg tops final practice

A happy Nico Rosberg

The Mercedes cars continue to dominate in Melbourne. Nico Rosberg topped the times in the final practice for the Australian GP. Jenson Button in the McLaren Mercedes was 2nd 1.4 seconds back.

So fast are the Mercedes that with 10 min to go in the session Rosberg got out of his car and dared anyone to beat him. No one came close.

Fernando Alonso was third for Ferrari ahead of Rosberg's Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton.

Daniel Ricciardo was a respectable 5th for Red Bull but his teammate Sebastian Vettel was way down in 12th complaining over the radio that his Renault powered car would not accelerate.

Three drivers – Bottas, Gutierrez and Grosjean never even completed a timed lap.


Pos Driver Team/Car Time Behind Laps
1. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m29.375s +0.000 15
2. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m30.766s +1.391s 20
3. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m30.876s +1.501s 11
4. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m30.919s +1.544s 13
5. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1m30.970s +1.595s 13
6. Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1m30.978s +1.603s 16
7. Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1m31.156s +1.781s 12
8. Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1m31.251s +1.876s 22
9. Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 1m31.665s +2.290s 17
10. Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1m31.723s +2.348s 20
11. Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 1m31.925s +2.550s 17
12. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m32.255s +2.880s 14
13. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault 1m32.417s +3.042s 16
14. Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 1m34.184s +4.809s 15
15. Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 1m34.188s +4.813s 16
16. Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 1m34.413s +5.038s 19
17. Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari 1m34.717s +5.342s 15
18. Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 1m34.754s +5.379s 15
19. Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 1m36.159s +6.784s 21
20. Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes No Time No Time 2
21. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari No Time No Time 2
22. Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault No Time No Time 4

Leave a Reply