Bourdais and Senna latest additions to Formula E club

The new FIA Formula E Championship has unveiled another eight drivers who have expressed support for the electric-racing series and who have put themselves into contention for future race seats in the series, which gets underway later this year.

The new names include five former F1 drivers as well as star names from IndyCar and GP2.

Brazil's Bruno Senna spent three years in the F1 paddock, starting with HRT in 2010 before moving to Renault and finally Williams in 2012, since when he's been competing in sportscar competitions including last year's Le Mans 24 Hour race.

'm very excited to be part of the Formula E Drivers' Club as Formula E and electric cars are the path for racing and motoring for a better future," confirmed Senna.

S├ębastien Bourdais spent a season and a half with Scuderia Toro Rosso in 2008 and 2009, having already been a four-time champion in the US Champ Car World Series. He's since moved to the IndyCar Series as well as sportscars, and last weekend was in the winning driver-up for the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona.

"Formula E is a really exciting project and a really big innovation in motor racing," said Bourdais. "You don't get to be a part of such technological advances very often in a career.

"I would be extremely happy to discover the car and begin racing next September, and I believe the best way to achieve that is to be part of the Drivers' Club."

India's Narain Karthikeyan has raced in F1 for Jordan and HRT as well as testing for Williams F1, and last year competed in the Auto GP Series, while Dutch driver Christijan Albers worked with Minardi, Midland and Spyker between 2005 and 2007 after having already become a star in DTM.

Frenchman Franck Montagny has also put his name forward, and brings with him experience from Le Mans, World Series by Nissan and A1 Grand Prix together with his time as a F1 test driver at Renault, Williams and Toyota alongside his seven race outings in F1 with Super Aguri in 2006.

Other names added to Formula E's "driver's club" include Spain's Oriol Servia and America's JR Hildebrand from IndyCar, and Germany's Daniel Abt from GP2 and GP3.

Leave a Reply