Kvyat scorches to GP3 pole in Abu Dhabi

Daniil Kvyat

Three points is all that separates the top two in the Drivers’ Championship after a stunning pole from Daniil Kvyat for MW Arden. The Russian driver continues to excel in Abu Dhabi after posting the fastest time in Free Practice and again in Qualifying. Series leader Facu Regalia (ART Grand Prix) will start from P10. Carlin’s Nick Yelloly and Koiranen GP’s Kevin Korjus start second and third.

Conor Daly (ART Grand Prix) and Tio Ellinas (Marussia Manor Racing) headed the queue of eager drivers onto the Yas Marina Circuit in the fight for the decisive pole. The Koiranen GP trio set the early pace in the 30 minute session whilst Ellinas was first to dip into the 1m57’s with Jack Harvey (ART Grand Prix) into P2.

Regalia rose to the top of the timesheets, lapping in the 1m56’s, but it was his closest rival in the championship, Kvyat who improved to snatch P1 by two tenths. His MW Arden teammate Carlos Sainz jumped up to P2 as the Russian driver lapped quicker to increase his advantage at the front.

Sector 1 and 2 belonged to Korjus with the Estonian ace lighting up the timing screens but a lock-up cost him time and brought him up the order to P2, missing an opportunity to go top. As the drivers pitted for fresh Pirelli tires at the midway point, it was American Daly who went from P10 to P2 as the clock ticked down.

Harvey disposed Kvyat from the top of the timings, until the MW Arden driver regained P1, with Yelloly and Alexander Sims into the top three. Korjus split the Carlin pair sneaking into P2 with a few minutes remaining, whilst Regalia locked-up on his fastest lap, costing him his chance of starting near the front.

At the checkered flag it was Kvyat, Yelloly, Korjus, Sims, Harvey, Sainz, Daly and Patric Niederhauser. Rookie Dean Stoneman for Koiranen GP impressed in ninth with Regalia completing the top ten.

The GP3 Drivers’ Championship can be decided today in Race 1 later today which will run at 18.35pm local time. This will be the first time GP3 have had a “night" race and with so much to play for, it’s one you don’t want to miss.

Abu Dhabi Qualifying

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Daniil Kvyat MW Arden 1:55.473 12
2. Nick Yelloly Carlin 1:55.753 11
3. Kevin Korjus Koiranen GP 1:55.785 13
4. Alexander Sims Carlin 1:56.221 12
5. Jack Harvey ART Grand Prix 1:56.265 11
6. Carlos Sainz MW Arden 1:56.392 12
7. Conor Daly ART Grand Prix 1:56.442 11
8. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 1:56.487 12
9. Dean Stoneman Koiranen GP 1:56.560 12
10. Facu Regalia ART Grand Prix 1:56.722 11
11. Giovanni Venturini Trident 1:56.730 11
12. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing 1:56.928 13
13. Jimmy Eriksson* Status Grand Prix 1:57.057 12
14. Robert Visoiu MW Arden 1:57.095 12
15. Dino Zamparelli Marussia Manor Racing 1:57.281 12
16. Alex Fontana Jenzer Motorsport 1:57.420 11
17. Emanuele Zonzini Trident 1:57.445 12
18. Patrick Kujala Koiranen GP 1:57.667 11
19 Luis Sa Silva Carlin 1:57.967 12
20. Robert Cregan Trident 1:58.040 12
21. Josh Webster Status Grand Prix 1:58.115 13
22. Adderly Fong Status Grand Prix 1:58.328 12
23. Samin Gomez* Jenzer Motorsport 1:58.522 13
24. Alice Powell Bamboo Engineering 1:58.553 12
25. Ryan Cullen* Marussia Manor Racing 1:58.804 12
26. Carmen Jorda Bamboo Engineering 1:59.400 13

*Ryan Cullen has a 10 place grid penalty after Monza Race 2
*Jimmy Eriksson & Samin Gomez have a 5 place grid penalty after Monza R2

Leave a Reply