Keselowski, Bowyer not eligible for shootout

There's a saying in racing that it's not where you start, it's where you finish. But that doesn't necessarily ring true for NASCAR's preseason exhibition race at Daytona International Speedway. NASCAR decided prior to the start of the 2012 season to go back to its traditional eligibility requirements for the Shootout pole winners from the previous year and past Shootout winners. That means the top two drivers in the 2012 standings #2-Brad Keselowski and #15-Clint Bowyer aren't on the list of 22 drivers eligible for the 2013 event. Not since 2004, when 2003 champion Matt Kenseth did not win a pole, has the Shootout been run without the previous year's Cup champion. The event used to be sponsored by Budweiser, which originally had also sponsored NASCAR's pole award. When Coors took over the pole award sponsorship in 2009, the eligibility rules changed and continued to change annually. A new sponsor and a new format for the Feb. 16 event are expected to be announced soon. Sporting News

Leave a Reply