Pedrosa wins pole for Honda at Misano

Repsol Honda's Dani Pedrosa scored his 4th pole of 2012 in a hectic Qualifying session for tomorrow's San Marino Grand Prix. The last time Pedrosa took the pole position in Misano was in 2010, when he completed a perfect weekend: pole, circuit record and victory. He is now the most successful Spanish rider of all time in pole positions in the premier class with 23, and equals Max Biaggi in sixth position overall.

Pedrosa squeezed out Jorge Lorenzo by 0.018s to steal pole on his final flying lap of the 60 minute session, during which both sides of the Repsol Honda garage worked non-stop to make up for lost time caused by bad weather yesterday and in this morning's FP3.

In tomorrow's 28 lap race, Dani will be looking for his 3rd consecutive win and to close the gap to Jorge Lorenzo.

DANI PEDROSA 1st 1'33.857
"It was a pretty tight session and no time to rest as we had to test the tires, suspension and find some settings, as well as finding some feeling for myself! At the end we managed a good lap to take pole, which is very important as the first part of the circuit is very tight, so a good start is necessary. The setting on the bike is good so I hope to have a good race tomorrow. Thanks to all my team, we did a very good job in a very short time after a strange weekend due to the weather conditions, but we remained focused to have a good qualifying session and be ready for tomorrow's race".

Qualifying Results

Pos Rider Time Nat Bike Team
1 Dani Pedrosa 1'33.857 SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
2 Jorge Lorenzo 1'33.875 SPA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing Team
3 Cal Crutchlow 1'34.001 GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
4 Stefan Bradl 1'34.221 GER HONDA LCR Honda MotoGP
5 Alvaro Bautista 1'34.299 SPA HONDA San Carlo Honda Gresini
6 Valentino Rossi 1'34.619 ITA DUCATI Ducati Team
7 Andrea Dovizioso 1'34.916 ITA YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
8 Ben Spies 1'34.988 USA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing Team
9 Jonathan Rea 1'35.358 GBR HONDA Repsol Honda Team
10 Nicky Hayden 1'35.401 USA DUCATI Ducati Team
11 Karel Abraham 1'35.648 CZE DUCATI Cardion AB Motoracing
12 Randy De Puniet 1'35.756 FRA ART Aspar Team MotoGP
13 Hector Barbera 1'36.048 SPA DUCATI Pramac Racing
14 Aleix Espargaro 1'36.284 ESP ART Aspar Team MotoGP
15 Michele Pirro 1'36.340 ITA HONDA San Carlo Honda Gresini
16 James Ellison 1'37.124 GBR ART Paul Bird Racing
17 Mattia Pasini 1'37.162 ITA ART Speed Master
18 Yonny Hernandez 1'37.316 COL BQR-FTR BQR
19 Danilo Petrucci 1'37.751 ITA IODA Ioda Racing Project
20 Colin Edwards 1'38.068 USA SUTER NGM Mobile Forward Racing
21 David Salom 1'40.075 SPA BQR-FTR BQR

Leave a Reply