GM’s Jim Campbell to serve as Honorary Chairman at MSHFA Induction Ceremony

Jim Campbell, General Motors US Vice President of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports, will serve as the Honorary Chairman of next Wednesday’s 24th Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony at the historic Fillmore Theater in downtown Detroit.

As Honorary Chairman, Campbell will preside over the formal black-tie ceremony and deliver the evening’s keynote address prior to the official inductions of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America’s 2012 class. This year’s list of motorsports legends that will be enshrined into the Hall includes sports car racing champion and five-time 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Derek Bell, popular NASCAR “Alabama Gang" driver Neil Bonnett, motorsports pioneer Pop Dreyer, high-performance innovator Vic Edelbrock, Sr., motocross and supercross champion Ricky Johnson, ace engine builder Ed Pink and IndyCar champion and Indianapolis 500 winner Danny Sullivan.

In his current position, Campbell is responsible for integrating the engineering and marketing of performance versions of current production models in addition to all motorsports activities.

“I’ve always loved high-performance cars and the link to racing," Campbell said. “I’ve had the opportunity for many, many years to be part of terrific race programs that won key races and won many manufacturers’ and drivers’ championships and I am very proud to go to work every day."

Campbell has been interested in racing and performance vehicles for as long as he can remember.

“My interest in performance cars and racing started when I was a kid," Campbell said. “I’ve always loved Corvettes and Camaros."

Campbell turned that love into a career when he joined General Motors as an intern in 1987. By 1999 he was the brand manager for Chevrolet Corvette and Camaro. It was in that role that Campbell was part of the team that started the Corvette Racing program, which competes in the American Le Mans Series (ALMS) and has since won its class in the famed 24 Hours of Le Mans seven times.

Leave a Reply