Filipe Albuquerque sets fastest time in first free practice

Fan weather at the Nurburgring: the Eifel, normally rather changeable, presented itself in its best way on Friday: bright sunshine and temperatures beyond 25 degrees. For Saturday and Sunday, temperatures of over 30 degrees have been forecast. For the DTM, first free practice was scheduled. Filipe Albuquerque set the fastest time in the 90 minutes’ session with his Audi A5 DTM.

With his fastest lap time of 1:25.007 minutes, the Portuguese topped an Audi trio in the first three positions. Mattias Ekström and Mike Rockenfeller ended up second and third respectively. Norisring winner Jamie Green drove the fastest AMG Mercedes C-Coupé in fourth place, Dirk Werner was classified ninth as the fastest driver with a BMW M3 DTM. Rahel Frey was the best-placed lady racer in eleventh place with her Audi A5 DTM.

“First free practice went very well. We were able to try out many things on the car," said Albuquerque. “I still had one fresh set of tires left, with which I could do a really fast lap. That is good, because conditions will be similar in qualifying tomorrow and now I got a feeling for them. But I remain realistic, Friday doesn’t mean anything in DTM."

At the 3.629 kilometers long track, lap times of the first 14 drivers, all the way down to BMW driver Andy Priaulx, were within one second. Edoardo Mortara drove the most laps with his Audi A5 DTM. With 48 laps, the Italian completed a distance of 174.192 kilometers. His fastest lap time made him end up eighth.



Driver/Team/Car No. Time Behind
1. Filipe Albuquerque, Team Rosberg, TV Movie Audi A5 DTM 38 1:25.007 00.000
2. Mattias Ekström, ABT Sportsline, Red Bull Audi A5 DTM 33 1:25.397 00.390
3. Mike Rockenfeller, Phoenix Racing, Schaeffler Audi A5 DTM 45 1:25.546 00.539
4. Jamie Green, HWA, Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 36 1:25.607 00.600
5. Miguel Molina, Phoenix Racing, Red Bull Audi A5 DTM 36 1:25.735 00.728
6. Adrien Tambay, Audi Sport Team Abt, Audi ultra A5 DTM 30 1:25.740 00.733
7. Gary Paffett, HWA, Thomas Sabo Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 39 1:25.783 00.776
8. Edoardo Mortara, Team Rosberg, Playboy Audi A5 DTM 48 1:25.806 00.799
9. Dirk Werner, BMW Team Schnitzer, E-POSTBRIEF BMW M3 DTM 41 1:25.879 00.872
10. Ralf Schumacher, HWA, Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 38 1:25.906 00.899
11. Rahel Frey, Audi Sport Team Abt, E-POSTBRIEF Audi A5 DTM 40 1:25.908 00.901
12. Bruno Spengler, BMW Team Schnitzer, BMW Bank M3 DTM 36 1:25.950 00.943
13. Augusto Farfus, BMW Team RBM, Castrol EDGE BMW M3 DTM 42 1:25.988 00.981
14. Andy Priaulx, BMW Team RBM, Crowne Plaza Hotels BMW M3 DTM 40 1:26.001 00.994
15. Timo Scheider, ABT Sportsline, AUTO TEST Audi A5 DTM 40 1:26.082 01.075
16. Martin Tomczyk, BMW Team RMG, BMW M Performance Zubehör M3 DTM 35 1:26.157 01.150
17. Susie Wolff, Persson Motorsport, TV Spielfilm Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 29 1:26.184 01.177
18. Robert Wickens, Mücke Motorsport, stern Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 40 1:26.314 01.307
19. David Coulthard, Mücke Motorsport, DHL Paket Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 37 1:26.321 01.314
20. Christian Vietoris, HWA, Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Coupé 40 1:26.327 01.320
21. Roberto Merhi, Persson Motorsport, Junge Sterne Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 25 1:26.671 01.664
22. Joey Hand, BMW Team RMG, SAMSUNG BMW M3 DTM 27 1:26.703 01.696

Leave a Reply