GP2: Grosjean sets the pace in Practice 1

Romain Grosjean

A week after his sprint race success at Nurburgring, Series leader Romain Grosjean has once again picked up where he left off. He set the pace in this morning’s practice session at Hungaroring with a best laptime of 1:31.173 just ten minutes into the session.

A dry track welcomed the twenty-six cars with Fabio Leimer, Davide Valsecchi and Christian Vietoris quick in action as soon as the pitlane opened, all looking to top the timesheet, but it was Adam Carroll who found the extra pace to claim P1 at the wheel of his Super Nova car.

The GP2 returnee could not enjoy it for long however as Grosjean posted a quick laptime of 1:31.606, enough to put him at the top of the timesheet. He would lose it but only just temporarily when Vietoris improved, and with ten minutes gone on the clock the Frenchman was back in control and his best laptime was never bettered.

Everyone else’s best efforts for the remainder of the session would prove to be fruitless, with Stefano Coletti and Marcus Ericsson pushing a bit too much and ending their free practice prematurely. Title rival Giedo van der Garde spent most of the session in the pits following mechanical gremlins. The Dutchman however finished P3 and just one tenth from the quickest laptime.

Grosjean may be leading the way in Hungary, but with Vietoris finishing P2 a shy 0.06s from the Dams racer, the top seventeen drivers finishing within one second, and the unpredictability of the weather, the qualifying session is set to be another GP2 Series classic.

Budapest – Free Practice

Pos Driver Team Laptime Laps
1. Romain Grosjean Dams 1:31.173 13
2. Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 1:31.241 15
3. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax Team 1:31.345 10
4. Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 1:31.680 14
5. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1:31.725 14
6. Adam Carroll Super Nova Racing 1:31.824 15
7. Fabio Leimer Rapax 1:31.845 16
8. Davide Valsecchi Caterham Team AirAsia 1:31.855 16
9. Max Chilton Carlin 1:31.909 14
10. Sam Bird iSport International 1:31.985 12
11. Luca Filippi Scuderia Coloni 1:32.000 14
12. Mikhail Aleshin Carlin 1:32.091 16
13. Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team 1:32.101 13
14. Marcus Ericsson iSport International 1:32.106 7
15. Josef Kral Arden International 1:32.117 13
16. Pal Varhaug Dams 1:32.171 14
17. Luiz Razia Caterham Team AirAsia 1:32.210 15
18. Johnny Cecotto Ocean Racing Technology 1:32.219 14
19 Stefano Coletti Trident Racing 1:32.464 5
20. Johnny Palmer Arden International 1:32.487 15
21. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing 1:32.600 15
22. Julian Leal Rapax 1:32.6636 14
23. Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing 1:32.659 13
24. Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni 1:32.676 13
25. Kevin Mirocha Ocean Racing Technology 1:32.687 13
26. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART 1:32.863 13

Leave a Reply