Newman’s team wins Richmond Tissot pit crew round

Newman's crew gets it done

Ryan Newman’s U.S. Army over-the-wall crew claimed the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Saturday night’s (May 1) Crown Royal Heath Calhoun 400 Sprint Cup race at Richmond International Raceway.

The Army crew put together a string of fast pit stops which helped Newman post an eighth-place finish in the 400-lap, 300-mile race at the .75-mile short track.

Newman’s No. 39 Army Medicine Chevrolet, which paid tribute to the U.S. Army Medical Department and Army Health Care personnel, spent the least amount of time on pit road – 197.999 seconds.

“Our pit crew has progressively improved since the beginning of the season and this is a deserving award for all of their hard work," said Joe Piette, No. 39 pit crew coach. “It’s about speed and teamwork for our Soldiers and it’s the same for our Army pit crew. We’re proud to say that this Tissot win is for our Soldiers, who inspire us week in and week out."

Newman’s over-the-wall crew consists of: Scott Brzozowoski (front-tire changer), Josh Mick (front-tire carrier), Ryan Pepe (rear-tire changer), James Houk (rear-tire carrier), Andrew Turner (jackman), Michael Moore (gasman), Andy Rueger (catch can) and Jay Guarneri (Eighth Man). The team’s crew chief is Tony Gibson and the pit crew coach is Joe Piette.

The winning pit crew in each Sprint Cup race will earn $5,000 and a Tissot V8 Quartz Chronograph watch. The team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will receive a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver.

After 10 races Martin Truex’s No. 56 crew leads the Tissot standings with two wins. Eight teams are tied for second with one win.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.


2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners
Daytona, 2/14 Juan Pablo Montoya Team
Fontana, 2/21 Jeff Gordon Team
Las Vegas, 2/28 Martin Truex Jr. Team
Atlanta, 3/7 Martin Truex Jr. Team
Bristol, 3/21 Brad Keselowski Team
Martinsville, 3/29 Clint Bowyer Team
Phoenix, 4/10 Matt Kenseth Team
Texas, 4/19 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
Talladega 4/25 David Reutimann Team
Richmond, 5/1 Ryan Newman Team

Leave a Reply