Alesi tops wet Free F2 Practice, as half the grid opt against setting laptimes

Giuliano Alesi
Giuliano Alesi

Giuliano Alesi was the fastest of just nine drivers to set a laptime in Free Practice around the Hungaroring. The BWT HWA RACELAB driver led Jack Aitken and Marino Sato in the order, with over half of the grid opting not to hit the track for a flying lap in wet conditions.

Light rain began to hit the track as the teams started their preparations in the pitlane and the majority of the grid opted to wait and see whether the weather would settle.

Luca Ghiotto and the Dan Ticktum were amongst those to test the conditions on the dry tires with installation laps. The DAMS driver spun on the penultimate corner, and with this, Race Control chose to declare the session wet.

Both headed back into the pits as the grid changed to wet tires. With one eye on Qualifying later this afternoon the teams opted against hitting the track, not wanting to use up a set of wets, or risk any potential damage to the cars.

With just over 15 minutes to go, Artem Markelov was the first driver to set an official laptime, airing on the side of caution and touring at 1:48.407. He was followed by teammate Alesi, who went beneath 1m 46s.

Trident’s pairing also chose to get some laps under their belts and joined the HWA duo out on the circuit. Campos were next and Jack Aitken was instantly able to set the second fastest time, but he was just over a second slower than Alesi.

Louis Deletraz was the sole Charouz Racing System representative out on track, while MP Motorsport decided to send both of their men out in the final 10 minutes.

Alesi would remain first by over a second, ahead of Aitken and Sato. Markelov held fourth, ahead of Deletraz, Guilherme Samaia, Roy Nissany, Felipe Drugovich and Nobuharu Matsushita.

With more than half of the grid choosing not to set a laptime in Free Practice, Qualifying could

prove to be fascinating, when it takes place at 5pm local time.

F2 Wet Practice Times

1 Giuliano Alesi BWT HWA RACELAB 1m45.926s
2 Jack Aitken Campos Racing 1.174s
3 Marino Sato Trident 1.738s
4 Artem Markelov BWT HWA RACELAB 1.800s
5 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System 1.860s
6 Guilherme Samaia Campos Racing 3.203s
7 Roy Nissany Trident 3.471s
8 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 4.487s
9 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 15.386s
10 Jehan Daruvala Carlin No Time
11 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin No Time
12 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix No Time
13 Nikita Mazepin Hitech Grand Prix No Time
14 Guanyu Zhou UNINo TimeVirtuosi No Time
15 Dan Ticktum DAMS No Time
16 Luca Ghiotto Hitech Grand Prix No Time
17 Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix No Time
18 Pedro Piquet Charouz Racing System No Time
19 Mick Schumacher Prema Racing No Time
20 Callum Ilott UNINo TimeVirtuosi No Time
21 Sean Gelael DAMS No Time
22 Robert Shwartzman Prema Racing No Time

Leave a Reply