Shwartzman wins last European F3 race of 2018

Robert Schwartzman
Robert Shwartzman

Prema driver Robert Shwartzman beat his Prema teammate Mick Schumacher easily to win the last-ever Formula 3 European Championship race at Hockenheim.

While Ferrari junior Shwartzman took victory by an incredible 10.5 seconds, Prema Powerteam stablemate and new champion Mick Schumacher had to fight hard for second.

Schumacher lost significant chunks of time on at least two occasions, each time allowing the squabbling Alex Palou and Ralf Aron onto his tail.

Schwartzman is another good Ferrari junior driver
Shwartzman is another good Ferrari junior driver

"I did the same mistake again [as race two] in Turn 1 – it feels a bit embarrassing to be honest!" said Schumacher.

Shwartzman added: "I kept my fresh set of tires for this race because I was starting from pole, so I had an advantage over Mick.

"Mick was quite close in Turn 1 at the start, but I just kept it flat, then I started to pick up quite a good pace and pulled away.

"I could see the guys fighting behind, and the car felt good all race and I didn't have much degradation at all – I was just enjoying the ride."

Full report to follow…….

Result – 22 laps

1 Robert Shwartzman PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 0.000s
2 Mick Schumacher PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 10.511s
3 Alex Palou Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 11.585s
4 Ralf Aron PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 12.016s
5 Dan Ticktum Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 12.726s
6 Guan Yu Zhou PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 13.181s
7 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 13.552s
8 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 14.834s
9 Enaam Ahmed Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 16.731s
10 Juri Vips Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 17.950s
11 Sophia Florsch Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 20.754s
12 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 21.762s
13 Fabio Scherer Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 27.044s
14 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 27.412s
15 Julian Hanses Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 27.741s
16 Frederik Vesti Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 28.280s
17 Marino Sato Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 32.236s
18 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 33.151s
19 Ben Hingeley Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 48.698s
20 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 49.745s
21 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 1m10.951s
22 Jehan Daruvala Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen DNF
23 Marcus Armstrong PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes DNF
24 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen DNF

Final drivers' standings

1 Mick Schumacher 365
2 Dan Ticktum 306
3 Robert Shwartzman 294
4 Juri Vips 283
5 Marcus Armstrong 260
6 Ralf Aron 254.5
7 Alex Palou 204
8 Guan Yu Zhou 201
9 Enaam Ahmed 172
10 Jehan Daruvala 136.5
11 Sacha Fenestraz 121
12 Jonathan Aberdein 106
13 Ferdinand Habsburg 85
14 Fabio Scherer 64
15 Nikita Troitskiy 37
16 Marino Sato 31.5
17 Ben Hingeley 22
18 Keyvan Andres 18
19 Julian Hanses 6
20 Artem Petrov 6
21 Sebastian Fernandez 5
22 Sophia Florsch 1
23 Frederik Vesti 1

Leave a Reply