F2: Ilott beats out Lundgaard to become first repeat pole-sitter of 2020

Callum Ilott
Callum Ilott

UNI-Virtuosi’s Callum Ilott got his title challenge firmly back on track in the first points’ paying session of Round 5, becoming FIA Formula 2’s first repeat polesitter of the season. ART Grand Prix’s Christian Lundgaard led most of the session at Silverstone, but Ilott dragged his car up from the midfield positions to beat the Renault junior by just one tenth of a second.

Ilott’s British counterpart Jack Aitken also enjoyed his best qualifying session of the season so far, finishing just 0.2s further back in third place.

Clouds had begun to form over Silverstone at the start of the session, but the temperature remained a warm 28 degrees as Jehan Daruvala led the cars out onto the track.

Lundgaard set the fastest of the first flurry of laps. The title challenger was briefly usurped by Louis Delétraz but leapt back ahead of the Charouz Racing System driver on his next attempt, as did Aitken, Luca Ghiotto and Nikita Mazepin.

The field fed into the pits for a change of rubber at the halfway point and returned with fresh tires. They will race on Pirellis soft compound at Silverstone in the Feature Race on Saturday, having used the mediums last weekend.

Callum Ilott on pole
Callum Ilott on pole

Ilott had struggled in the first stint but responded emphatically in the second. The UNI-Virtuosi racer was off the pace in Sector 1, but then went fastest in the second and third sectors to leap from 10th to first.

Dan Ticktum was the only other driver to improve significantly on the first push laps of the second stint. The Briton’s tour was only good enough for fourth though as he nestled in behind Aitken, Lundgaard and Ilott.

Ilott’s route to pole was then made a whole lot easier as Sean Gelael spun on track and brought out a yellow flag in Sector 2, ruining many final pushes.

Ghiotto completed the top five, ahead of Guanyu Zhou, Mazepin, Mick Schumacher, Delétraz and Yuki Tsunoda.

Starting from P1 at his home circuit in Silverstone, Ilott will hope for victory on home soil when the Feature Race gets underway at 3.45pm local time.

Starting Lineup

1 Callum Ilott UNI-Virtuosi 0.000s
2 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 0.115s
3 Jack Aitken Campos Racing 0.216s
4 Dan Ticktum DAMS 0.264s
5 Luca Ghiotto Hitech Grand Prix 0.300s
6 Guanyu Zhou UNI-Virtuosi 0.332s
7 Nikita Mazepin Hitech Grand Prix 0.348s
8 Mick Schumacher Prema Racing 0.386s
9 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System 0.412s
10 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 0.432s
11 Robert Shwartzman Prema Racing 0.463s
12 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 0.464s
13 Pedro Piquet Charouz Racing System 0.559s
14 Marino Sato Trident 0.617s
15 Sean Gelael DAMS 0.721s
16 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 0.728s
17 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 0.899s
18 Artem Markelov BWT HWA RACELAB 1.032s
19 Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix 1.237s
20 Giuliano Alesi BWT HWA RACELAB 1.423s
21 Roy Nissany Trident 1.553s
22 Guilherme Samaia Campos Racing 1.999s

Leave a Reply