Rolex 24 Hour 8: #48 Ally Cadillac leads at 1/3-mark

Ally drivers Jimmie Johnson (Mooresville, N.C.), Simon Pagenaud (France), Mike Rockenfeller (Germany), and Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) are at the top of the leader board eight hours into the 59th running of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship at Daytona International Speedway.

The No. 01 Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R, Kevin Magnussen, Renger Van Der Zande, and Scott Dixon ran 2nd with Van Der Zande behind the wheel.

“It is just so much fun,” Johnson said. “To have an opportunity to drive for Action Express Racing is a great experience. I miss the fans not being here, but there was still great energy in prerace. I had the honor to start, lots of memories and emotions on the grid. There were a few close calls with spinning cars, the dirt and the dust, I picked the right lane and squeezed by. For me it is about keeping the car safe and working on lap times. I am in the second bracket of our drivers lap time wise, even though I am a little uncomfortable it makes me feel alive!

Alexander Rossi ran third in the #10 Wayne Taylor Acura 15-seconds behind. The #31 Action Express Cadillac runs 4th and Dane Cameron in the #60 Meyer Shank Acura rounds out the top-5.

#10 Konica Minolta Acura ARX-05 Acura DPi. Rossi in third at the wheel of the #10 is no match for the #48 leading Cadillac of Kobayashi who is taking him to school – LAT Photo for IMSA

Kobayashi was setting a blistering pace and gapping van der Zande and Rossi. By the 8.5-hour mark Kobayashi had stretched the lead to 3rd-pace Rossi from 15 to 30-seconds, the winner of the 100th Indy 500 clearly no match for the ex-F1 driver.

Tom Merrill had the #11 Win Autosport Oreca out front ahead of the #8 driven by Tim Buret in LMP2.

The two Corvettes continue to lead in GTLM with the #3 of Antonio Garcia just holding off the #4 driven by Tommy Milner. The #62 Risi Ferrari has moved ahead of the two RLL BMWs and runs third.

S. Mann / N. Nielsen #21 Ferrari 488 GT3  leads in GTD

GTD was led by the #21 Ferrari with Nicklas Nielsen behind the wheel.

Hour 8 Standings (1/3-Mark)

1 DPi 48 Ally Cadillac Racing Jimmie Johnson Kamui Kobayashi Simon Pagenaud Mike Rockenfeller Cadillac DPi 264 0.000s
2 DPi 01 Cadillac Chip Ganassi Racing Renger van der Zande Kevin Magnussen Scott Dixon Cadillac DPi 264 8.716
3 DPi 10 Konica Minolta Acura ARX-05 Ricky Taylor Filipe Albuquerque Alexander Rossi Helio Castroneves Acura DPi 264 15.184
4 DPi 31 Whelen Engineering Racing Felipe Nasr Mike Conway Pipo Derani Chase Elliott Cadillac DPi 264 36.951
5 DPi 60 Meyer Shank Racing w/Curb-Agajanian Dane Cameron Olivier Pla Juan Pablo Montoya AJ Allmendinger Acura DPi 264 48.754
6 DPi 5 Mustang Sampling / JDC-Miller MotorSports Tristan Vautier Loic Duval Sebastien Bourdais Cadillac DPi 264 1’05.113
7 DPi 55 Mazda Motorsports Oliver Jarvis Harry Tincknell Jonathan Bomarito Mazda DPi 263 1 Laps
8 LMP2 8 Tower Motorsport John Farano Gabriel Aubry Tim Buret Matthieu Vaxiviere ORECA LMP2 07 258 6 Laps
9 LMP2 11 WIN Autosport Steven Thomas Tristan Nunez Thomas Merrill Matthew Bell ORECA LMP2 07 258 6 Laps
10 LMP2 47 Cetilar Racing Roberto Lacorte Antonio Fuoco Andrea Belicchi Giorgio Sernagiotto Dallara LMP2 257 7 Laps
11 LMP2 18 Era Motorsport Dwight Merriman Kyle Tilley Ryan Dalziel Paul-Loup Chatin ORECA LMP2 07 257 7 Laps
12 LMP2 82 DragonSpeed USA LLC Christopher Mies Eric Lux Devlin DeFrancesco Fabian Schiller ORECA LMP2 07 257 7 Laps
13 LMP2 51 RWR-Eurasia Cody Ware Salih Yoluc Austin Dillon Sven Muller Ligier LMP2 256 8 Laps
14 GTLM 3 Corvette Racing Antonio Garcia Jordan Taylor Nicky Catsburg Corvette C8.R 252 12 Laps
15 GTLM 4 Corvette Racing Tommy Milner Nick Tandy Alexander Sims Corvette C8.R 252 12 Laps
16 GTLM 62 Risi Competizione James Calado Alessandro Pier Guidi Jules Gounon Davide Rigon Ferrari 488 GTE 252 12 Laps
17 GTLM 25 BMW Team RLL Connor De Phillippi Philipp Eng Timo Glock Bruno Spengler BMW M8 GTE 252 12 Laps
18 GTLM 24 BMW Team RLL John Edwards Jesse Krohn Augusto Farfus Marco Wittmann BMW M8 GTE 252 12 Laps
19 LMP2 52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports Ben Keating Mikkel Jensen Scott Huffaker Nicolas Lapierre ORECA LMP2 07 251 13 Laps
20 LMP3 6 Muehlner Motorsports America Moritz Kranz Laurents Hoerr Kenton Koch Stevan McAleer Duqueine D08 247 17 Laps
21 LMP3 33 Sean Creech Motorsport Lance Willsey Joao Barbosa Wayne Boyd Yann Clairay Ligier JS P320 246 18 Laps
22 LMP3 74 Riley Motorsports Gar Robinson Scott Andrews Oliver Askew Spencer Pigot Ligier JS P320 245 19 Laps
23 GTD 21 Af Corse Simon Mann Nicklas Nielsen Daniel Serra Matteo Cressoni Ferrari 488 GT3 245 19 Laps
24 GTD 1 Paul Miller Racing Bryan Sellers Madison Snow Corey Lewis Andrea Caldarelli Lamborghini Huracan GT3 245 19 Laps
25 GTD 9 Pfaff Motorsports Zacharie Robichon Laurens Vanthoor Lars Kern Matt Campbell Porsche 911 GT3R 244 20 Laps
26 GTD 16 Wright Motorsports Trent Hindman Patrick Long Jan Heylen Klaus Bachler Porsche 911 GT3R 244 20 Laps
27 GTD 14 Vasser Sullivan Aaron Telitz Oliver Gavin Kyle Kirkwood Jack Hawksworth Lexus RC F GT3 244 20 Laps
28 GTD 57 Winward Racing Russell Ward Philip Ellis Indy Dontje Maro Engel Mercedes-AMG GT3 244 20 Laps
29 GTD 97 TF Sport Maxwell Root Charlie Eastwood Ben Keating Richard Westbrook Aston Martin Vantage GT3 244 20 Laps
30 GTD 23 Heart Of Racing Team Ian James Roman De Angelis Darren Turner Ross Gunn Aston Martin Vantage GT3 244 20 Laps
31 GTD 75 Sun Energy 1 Kenny Habul Raffaele Marciello Mikael Grenier Luca Stolz Mercedes-AMG GT3 244 20 Laps
32 GTD 63 Scuderia Corsa Ed Jones Bret Curtis Ryan Briscoe Marcos Gomes Ferrari 488 GT3 244 20 Laps
33 GTD 28 Alegra Motorsports Daniel Morad Mike Skeen Billy Johnson Maxi Buhk Mercedes-AMG GT3 243 21 Laps
34 GTD 88 Team Hardpoint EBM Rob Ferriol Earl Bamber Katherine Legge Christina Nielsen Porsche 911 GT3R 243 21 Laps
35 GTD 96 Turner Motorsport Bill Auberlen Robby Foley Aidan Read Colton Herta BMW M6 GT3 243 21 Laps
36 LMP3 54 Core Autosport Jonathan Bennett George Kurtz Colin Braun Matt McMurry Ligier JS P320 242 22 Laps
37 GTD 44 Magnus with Archangel John Potter Andy Lally Spencer Pumpelly Mario Farnbacher Acura NSX GT3 242 22 Laps
38 GTLM 79 WeatherTech Racing Cooper MacNeil Kevin Estre Richard Lietz Gianmaria Bruni Porsche 911 RSR – 19 240 24 Laps
39 GTD 64 TeamTGM Ted Giovanis Owen Trinkler Hugh Plumb Matt Plumb Porsche 911 GT3R 239 25 Laps
40 GTD 42 NTE Sport Alan Metni Andrew Davis JR Hildebrand Don Yount Audi R8 LMS GT3 238 26 Laps
41 LMP3 91 Riley Motorsports Jim Cox Dylan Murry Austin McCusker Jeroen Bleekemolen Ligier JS P320 235 29 Laps
42 GTD 12 Vasser Sullivan Robert Megennis Zach Veach Townsend Bell Frankie Montecalvo Lexus RC F GT3 220 44 Laps
43 GTD 111 GRT Grasser Racing Team Steijn Schothorst Marco Mapelli Rolf Ineichen Mirko Bortolotti Lamborghini Huracan GT3 212 52 Laps
44 LMP3 7 Forty7 Motorsports Mark Kvamme Ryan Norman Gabby Chaves Trenton Estep Duqueine D08 206 58 Laps
45 GTD 19 GRT Grasser Racing Team Misha Goikhberg Franck Perera Albert Costa Tim Zimmermann Lamborghini Huracan GT3 195 69 Laps
46 LMP3 38 Performance Tech Motorsports Rasmus Lindh Cameron Cassels Mateo LLarena Ayrton Ori Ligier JS P320 188 76 Laps
47 LMP2 29 Racing Team Nederland Frits Van Eerd Giedo van der Garde Job van Uitert Charles Milesi ORECA LMP2 07 64 200 Laps
48 LMP2 20 High Class Racing Dennis Andersen Ferdinand Habsburg-Lothringen Anders Fjordbach Robert Kubica ORECA LMP2 07 56 208 Laps
49 LMP2 81 DragonSpeed USA LLC Ben Hanley Rob Hodes Garett Grist Rinus Veekay ORECA LMP2 07 53 211 Laps