Corey Heim Wins ARCA race at Daytona

Corey Heim scored his first career win at Daytona, holding off pole-sitter Drew Dollar (shown above) to win the ARCA Menards Series Lucas Oil 200 in his #20 Billy Venturini owned Toyota.

Heim, 18, finished last season with a victory in Kansas. He opted for the outside lane ahead of an overtime restart, quickly darted in front Dollar and the duo separated from the pack for a comfortable 1-2 finish.

Bret Holmes, Ty Gibbs and Kyle Sieg rounded out the top-five.

Heim, who won last season’s finale at Kansas Speedway to earn his first series victory, picked up right where he left off driving the No. 20 JBL Toyota.

“I gotta give it all to (crew chief) Shannon Rursch,” said Heim of the final restart with one lap to go Saturday. “He made the perfect call, executed this race perfect. He dialed this JBL Camry in perfect.

“Can’t give enough thanks to Toyota Racing, Venturini Motorsports, JBL, all the guys who make it happen.”

A caution with four laps to go set up Saturday’s overtime finish. With Heim, the leader, taking the top lane and Dollar on the bottom, the latter let the former move to the inside so the duo could work together in the draft.

Even with Dollar’s car damaged and lacking power steering, the plan worked to perfection, and VMS ended the race with a 1-2 finish.

“I felt like that was really all we could do there,” Dollar said of the last lap. “We had a super fast Camry today; just didn’t really have what it took to win once we had damage. Had a little bit of a tire rub and just wanted to get to the end. It was tough without any power steering.”

Including last summer’s ARCA Menards Series race at the Daytona International Speedway Road Course, a VMS Toyota has now won five consecutive races on the platform at the World Center of Racing.

That also means VMS has won four straight ARCA Menards Series season-openers on the famed Daytona oval.

“I gotta give a lot of props to Drew Dollar,” Heim added. “He really helped me there at the end, just him being right behind me. I know he’s got a little bit of experience and just raced (Friday night’s NASCAR Camping World) Truck (Series) race, too. Really trusted him, and it paid off.”

Defending series champion Bret Holmes finished third ahead of Ty Gibbs in fourth and Kyle Sieg in fifth.

Derrick Lancaster, Tanner Gray, Andy Jankowiak, Jack Wood and Sean Corr rounded out the top 10.

Heim and Dollar’s VMS teammates, Derek Griffith and Gracie Trotter, finished 30th and 23rd, respectively, after getting caught up in incidents.

While leading, Griffith was knocked out of the race on Lap 27 when Trotter got into his rear bumper.

Trotter found more trouble later in the race when she ran into the back of Chuck Hiers’ car as it slid into the outside wall.

Race Results

Fin No. Driver Sponsor / Owner Car Laps Behind
1 20 Corey Heim JBL/(Billy Venturini) Toyota 82 0.000s
2 15 Drew Dollar Sunbelt Rentals/(Bill Venturini) Toyota 82 0.113
3 23 Bret Holmes Southern States Bank/(Stacy Holmes) Chevrolet 82 0.194
4 18 Ty Gibbs Monster Energy/(Coy Gibbs) Toyota 82 0.378
5 28 Kyle Sieg TBD/(Rod Sieg) Chevrolet 82 0.609
6 29 Derrick Lancaster Total Car & Truck Service/(Derrick Lancaster) Toyota 82 0.627
7 17 Tanner Gray Ford/(David Gilliland) Ford 82 0.741
8 73 null Jankowiak Racing/(Andy Jankowiak) Ford 82 0.746
9 21 Jack Wood GMS Racing/(Maury Gallagher) Chevrolet 82 0.860
10 8 Sean Corr Nesco/(John Corr) Chevrolet 82 0.865
11 97 Jason Kitzmiller A.L.L. Construction/(Codie Rohrbaugh) Chevrolet 82 1.039
12 44 John Ferrier Ferrier McClure Racing/(John Ferrier) Chevrolet 82 1.046
13 32 Howie DiSavino III Kee’s Travel/(Kevin Cywinski) Chevrolet 82 1.137
14 10 Jason White Powder Venture Excavating/(Andy Hillenburg) Ford 82 1.743
15 45 Rich Bickle Cheek) Chevrolet 82 2.200
16 7 Eric Caudell Caudell Consulting & Marketing/(Eric Caudell) Ford 82 2.381
17 11 Richard Garvie The Brews Box/(Andy Hillenburg) Ford 82 5.283
18 02 Toni Breidinger Roman/(Tyler Young) 82 6.896
19 27 Tim Richmond Immigration Law Center/(David Richmond) Toyota 81 1 Lap
20 94 Benny Chastain Kram/(Kevin Cram) 81 1 Lap
21 46 Thad Moffitt Clean Harbors/(David Gilliland) Ford 80 2 Laps
22 06 Con Nicolopoulos Peterson) Chevrolet 80 2 Laps
23 25 Gracie Trotter Mobil1/(Cathy Venturini) Toyota 78 4 Laps
24 88 Scott Reeves Reeves Racing/(Scott Reeves) Chevrolet 74 8 Laps
25 01 Chuck Hiers Design Center of Avenues/(Michelle Hillenburg) Toyota 63 19 Laps
26 12 D.L. Wilson Panagenics Dog Food/(Michelle Hillenburg) Toyota 56 26 Laps
27 63 Dave Mader III Diamond C Ranch/(Paris Wixon) Chevrolet 55 27 Laps
28 3 Willie Mullins Crawford Sprinkler/(Willie Mullins) Chevrolet 32 50 Laps
29 35 Greg Van Alst CB Fabricating/(Greg Van Alst) Chevrolet 28 54 Laps
30 55 Derek Griffith Spot On/(Billy Venturini) Toyota 27 55 Laps
31 2 Nick Sanchez Max Siegael. Eibach/(Max Siegel) Chevrolet 27 55 Laps
32 69 Scott Melton Melton McFadden Insurance/(Bill Kimmel) Chevrolet 27 55 Laps
33 48 Owen Smith Henshaw Automation/(Brad Smith) Chevrolet 17 65 Laps
34 30 Brittney Zamora SQ1/(Mark Rette) 7 75 Laps
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :