Supercars: Van Gisbergen wins dramatic first race of 2021

Shane van Gisbergen has picked up where he left off in Bathurst, with the Red Bull  driver dominating Race 1 of the new season at the Repco Mt Panorama 500.

Van Gisbergen, who claimed victory in last October’s Bathurst 1000, was never headed in the 40-lap affair, which saw a number of frontrunners come unstuck in dramatic crashes.

The 41st victory of van Gisbergen’s career was the third instance that the Kiwi had won the opening race of the season, following victories on the streets of Adelaide in 2017 and 2018.

Rounding out the podium was Chaz Mostert who finished second ahead of Will Davison who was third and the best of the Mustangs.

Shane van Gisbergen leads at the start

The race was punctuated by separate dramas for Cameron Waters, Tim Slade and Anton De Pasquale.

Slade’s was the biggest crash of the day and was a heartbreaker for his CoolDrive Mustang Team in pit lane, who were debuting the new Blanchard Racing Team and on track for a top four finish.

With five laps remaining, the Gold Coast native lost control chasing Will Davison through the Esses and dramatically crashed.

Shane van Gisbergen schools the two Dick Johnson Racing Mustangs

He managed to get the damaged #3 CoolDrive Mustang to safety, enabling the race to run green to the end.

Despite avoiding injury, a dejected Slade was shattered, cutting a forlorn figure beside his damaged car after a strong debut showing for his new Blanchard Racing Team.

The other major crash was on Lap 7, with De Pasquale crashing out at the Cutting, after claiming provisional pole this morning it was a heart-breaking end to the day for the 25-year old on his DJR Ford debut.

Shane van Gisbergen wins race 1 of the Repco MT Panorama 500.

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to the track for ARMOR ALL Qualifying on Sunday at 10:05am AEDT.

Race 1 Results – Repco Mount Panorama 500

1 97 Van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team +0.000s
2 25 Mostert WAU Racing Pty Ltd +1.427
3 17 Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team +18.137
4 18 Winterbottom Team 18 +30.738
5 2 B. Fullwood WAU Racing Pty Ltd +31.733
6 5 J. Le Brocq Truck Assist Racing +37.607
7 88 Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Team +38.093
8 44 Courtney Boost Mobile Racing +40.110
9 26 Reynolds Nissan Motorsport +51.932
10 14 T. Hazelwood Brad Jones Racing +53.848
11 99 B. Kostecki Penrite Racing – Erebus +54.376
12 35 Z. Goddard Matt Stone Racing +1:02.912
13 34 J. Kostecki Matt Stone Racing +1:08.892
14 19 Coulthard Team SYDNEY – Tekno +1:10.173
15 7 Heimgartner Nissan Motorsport +1:25.769
16 9 W. Brown Penrite Racing – Erebus +1:41.124
17 4 J. Smith SCT Motor Sports +1 Lap
18 8 Percat Brad Jones Racing +2 Laps
19 20 S. Pye Team 18 +2 Laps
20 6 C. Waters Monster Energy Racing +6 Laps
NC 3 Slade CoolDrive Racing +5 Laps
NC 22 G. Jacobson Team SYDNEY – Tekno +9 Laps
NC 96 M. Jones SCT Motor Sports +16 Laps
NC 100 A. de Pasquale Shell V-Power Racing Team +34 Laps

Bathurst – Qualifying 2