Van Gisbergen breaks record with win from 17th at Sandown

Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen has broken one of the oldest record’s in the Repco Supercars Championship history today, with a remarkable win from a starting position of 17th on the grid in the opening race of the Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint.

Second place went to Ford’s Cam Waters and third went to van Gisbergen’s Red Bull teammate, Jamie Whincup.

The win was made even more remarkable given the fact van Gisbergen broke his collarbone two weeks’ ago and had nine screws inserted into his shoulder just 14 days ago.

4-wide battle for the lead at the start

The victory, claimed in front of the first audience of Victorian fans since the COVID shutdown, was the greatest ever start-to-finish result at the historic Melbourne circuit.

Before today Norm Beechey’s record of winning from a start of 14th place on the grid in 1956 was the best ever start-to-finish result.

The result means van Gisbergen has now won all three races of the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship, and extends his winning streak to four after claiming last year’s Bathurst 1000 as well.

Having just passed teammate Jamie Whincup for 2nd Shane van Gisbergen schools Cam Waters for the lead

It was his 43rd career victory and extends his Championship lead over Chaz Mostert who started from pole position today.

Mostert led late in the race but a poor start in the end meant he ran out of steam to finish sixth. He retains second in the Repco Supercars Championship, but is now 60 points behind a still unbeaten van Gisbergen.

Penrite Sandown SUPERSPRINT podium from left, Waters, Van Gisbergen and Whincup

The race itself was a see-saw affair with Mostert and Waters leading for the majority of the race until the fast-finishing van Gisbergen, who pitted later than anyone else in the race to try and finish with fast tires, flew past everyone over the dying laps to claim the lead on the final lap and drive to victory from there.

Tomorrow, there will be two ARMOR ALL Qualifying Sessions in the morning, before two afternoon races to round out the event.

Race Results

1 97 Van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team 45:57.064
2 6 C. Waters Monster Energy Racing +1.027
3 88 Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Team +1.315
4 18 Winterbottom Team 18 +3.739
5 11 A. de Pasquale Shell V-Power Racing Team +4.659
6 25 Mostert WAU Racing Pty Ltd +4.675
7 8 Percat Brad Jones Racing +7.848
8 7 Heimgartner Nissan Motorsport +9.419
9 44 Courtney Boost Mobile Racing +14.277
10 5 J. Le Brocq Truck Assist Racing +14.785
11 26 Reynolds Nissan Motorsport +15.346
12 20 S. Pye Team 18 +15.487
13 3 Slade CoolDrive Racing +15.991
14 14 T. Hazelwood Brad Jones Racing +18.229
15 96 M. Jones SCT Motor Sports +18.521
16 9 W. Brown Erebus Motorsport +22.560
17 99 B. Kostecki Penrite Racing – Erebus +24.959
18 4 J. Smith SCT Motor Sports +25.006
19 35 Z. Goddard Matt Stone Racing +29.400
20 22 G. Jacobson Team SYDNEY – Tekno +29.568
21 19 Coulthard Team SYDNEY – Tekno +30.038
22 17 Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team +2 Laps
23 34 J. Kostecki Matt Stone Racing +6 Laps
24 2 B. Fullwood WAU Racing Pty Ltd +7 Laps