MotoGP: Miller leads factory Ducati 1-2 in Qatar Friday practice

Leading the way on Friday at the Barwa MotoGP Grand Prix of Qatar was Ducati Lenovo Team’s Jack Miller. The Australian’s 1:53.387 was just 0.007s away from the all-time lap record as teammate Francesco Bagnaia made it a factory Bologna 1-2, 0.035s splitting the red machines. Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) was third quickest as MotoGP™ returns in scintillating fashion, with half a second covering the top 10.

After a scorching FP1 was completed earlier in the day, the Losail floodlights were switched on for FP2 and Miller, Bagnaia, Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) and Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) all immediately set lap times quicker than Franco Morbidelli’s (Petronas Yamaha SRT) FP1 pace in the opening handful of minutes. This occurred before the red flags were then waved due to track conditions, some debris had been scattered across the track on the start/finish straight. However, after a quick clean up operation, the MotoGP™ riders were back out with one thing on their mind: securing a top 10 place.

Miller’s teammate Francesco Bagnaia was 2nd quick

Aleix Espargaro was the first rider to venture into the 1:53s under the evening lights and briefly went seven tenths clear. Outstanding from the Spaniard and Noale factory early in 2021, as Rins then cut the deficit to just under half a second. The spearhead of the times fell quiet for a few minutes but with just under 15 minutes to go on the opening day, Quartararo got within a tenth of Aleix Espargaro to make it four manufacturers in the top four: Aprilia, Yamaha, Ducati, and Suzuki. Soft front and rear rubber was slotted into the machines of pretty much every rider, as we grabbed the popcorn and watch an almighty battle for the top 10 unfold.

With nine minutes left, Bagnaia then took charge by 0.275s. That lap was within half a tenth of Marc Marquez’s (Repsol Honda Team) all-time lap record, a 1:53.380. The other red bullet then went within 0.007s of that time, as Miller shot to P1. And it was soon a Ducati 1-2-3 with Zarco going 0.199s behind Miller, with the top 10 positions changing constantly.

Friday Results – Practice 1

1 Franco Morbidelli ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1’54.921s
2 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) +0.125s
3 Jack Miller AUS Ducati Team (GP21) +0.191s
4 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.292s
5 Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +0.334s
6 Maverick Viñales SPA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.388s
7 Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +0.432s
8 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Team (GP21) +0.444s
9 Valentino Rossi ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.498s
10 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM (RC16) +0.824s
11 Alex Marquez SPA LCR Honda (RC213V) +0.827s
12 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) +0.833s
13 Johann Zarco FRA Pramac Ducati (GP21) +0.950s
14 Stefan Bradl GER Repsol Honda (RC213V) +1.021s
15 Pol Espargaro SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) +1.125s
16 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16) +1.136s
17 Luca Marini ITA Sky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)* +1.148s
18 Enea Bastianini ITA Avintia Ducati (GP19)* +1.277s
19 Danilo Petrucci ITA KTM Tech3 (RC16) +1.309s
20 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP21)* +1.620s
21 Lorenzo Savadori ITA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* +1.638s


Friday Results – Practice 2

Pos Rider Bike Laps Time Behind
1 Jack Miller Ducati 17 1’53.387 0.000s
2 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati 16 1’53.422 0.035
3 Fabio Quartararo Yamaha 17 1’53.575 0.188
4 Johann Zarco Ducati 18 1’53.586 0.199
5 Alex Rins Suzuki 19 1’53.623 0.236
6 Maverick Viñales Yamaha 18 1’53.639 0.252
7 Franco Morbidelli Yamaha 19 1’53.676 0.289
8 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia 16 1’53.727 0.340
9 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 19 1’53.874 0.487
10 Pol Espargaro Honda 18 1’53.901 0.514
11 Joan Mir Suzuki 18 1’53.914 0.527
12 Alex Marquez Honda 17 1’54.115 0.728
13 Jorge Martin Ducati 17 1’54.178 0.791
14 Takaaki Nakagami Honda 16 1’54.199 0.812
15 Enea Bastianini Ducati 17 1’54.228 0.841
16 Brad Binder KTM 15 1’54.371 0.984
17 Luca Marini Ducati 17 1’54.432 1.045
18 Stefan Bradl Honda 18 1’54.634 1.247
19 Miguel Oliveira KTM 17 1’54.756 1.369
20 Danilo Petrucci KTM 16 1’54.774 1.387
21 Iker Lecuona KTM 16 1’55.098 1.711
22 Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia 18 1’55.674 2.287


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :