Bahrain GP: Verstappen tops final practice ahead of qualifying

As he did in both practice session Friday, #33 Red Bull Honda  driver Max Verstappen turned the fastest lap with a time of 1m30.577s to lead the final practice session for the Bahrain GP over Lewis Hamilton.

When Verstappen made his quick run it was over seven tenths up on Hamilton, who was sandbagging. That RB16B looks a dream to handle in the corners too, Verstappen able to carry so much more speed.

The session was run under the desert sun, which is not totally indicative of what we will see in qualifying as the track cools.

As for pole, last year that belonged to Hamilton who went on to win the race. His pole lap was a scintillating 1m 27.264s.

How much is Hamilton Sandbagging?

Pierre Gasly, Valtteri Bottas  and Sergio Perez rounded out the top-5.

Mercedes are not helped by the fact that Bottas seems to be struggling out there. he hasn’t been as happy as Hamilton all weekend, and if he tried some set up changes for today, they didn’t look to have worked. He wound up fourth, well over a second back.

Practice 3 Results

1 Max Verstappen NED Red Bull Racing 1m30.577s
2 Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes AMG Petronas 1m31.316s
3 Pierre Gasly FRA Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 1m31.583s
4 Valtteri Bottas FIN Mercedes AMG Petronas 1m31.855s
5 Sergio Perez MEX Red Bull Racing 1m31.908s
6 Carlos Sainz ESP Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow 1m32.108s
7 Kimi Raikkonen FIN Alfa Romeo Racing Orlen 1m32.224s
8 Esteban Ocon FRA Alpine F1 Team 1m32.423s
9 Lance Stroll CAN Aston Martin Cognizant 1m32.431s
10 Daniel Ricciardo AUS McLaren F1 Team 1m32.477s
11 Charles Leclerc MON Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow 1m32.482s
12 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Alfa Romeo Racing Orlen 1m32.500s
13 Yuki Tsunoda JPN Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 1m32.709s
14 Sebastian Vettel GER Aston Martin Cognizant 1m32.755s
15 Fernando Alonso ESP Alpine F1 Team 1m32.820s
16 Lando Norris GBR McLaren F1 Team 1m32.860s
17 George Russell GBR Williams Racing 1m33.323s
18 Mick Schumacher GER Uralkali Haas F1 Team 1m33.422s
19 Nikita Mazepin RUS Uralkali Haas F1 Team 1m33.622s
20 Nicholas Latifi CAN Williams Racing 1m33.959s