Bottas fastest in first GP of Portugal practice

Valtteri Bottas turned a lap of 1m19.648s in his #77 Mercedes to top opening practice at the Algarve circuit in Portimao for the GP of Portugal.

Bottas was also fastest in #FP1 here last year, with a time of 1m18.410s.

Max Verstappen, complaining of a vibration from his soft red tires after he flat-spotted them, was 2nd quick 0.025s behind the Mercedes in his #33 Red Bull Honda. Expect more from the Dutchman when the team gets his setup honed in.

Sergio Perez, coming to terms with his Red Bull Honda, was 3rd, at 1m19.846, or 0.198s behind Bottas.

On his last lap, Charles Leclerc put his Ferrari 4th quick 0.236s behind the Mercedes.

Perpetual Friday Practice 1 sandbagger, Lewis Hamilton, was 5th quick in his #44 Mercedes, 0.319s back.

Perhaps the biggest surprise of the session was George Russell 7th quick for Williams.

Sebastian Vettel continues to prove he needs to retire, down in 16th place in his #5 Aston Martin and much slower than his teammate Lance Stroll.

Callum Ilott gave a good account of himself, P17 for the youngster and less than half a second off his considerably more experienced teammate Raikkonen.

A steady session that, with plenty of drivers running wide and struggling to nail the racing line – not helped by the gusty wind that picked up during FP1. But everyone did keep it clean and managed to stay out of the gravel.

With a mixture of tires and strategies, it is hard to draw too many conclusions from that session – with the likes of McLaren often waiting to reveal their full hand, and Alpine confirming that longer runs were their focus.

Practice 1 Results

1 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:19.648 +0.000s 30
2 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing Honda 1:19.673 +0.025s 22
3 11 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing Honda 1:19.846 +0.198s 21
4 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:19.884 +0.236s 26
5 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:19.967 +0.319s 31
6 10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri Honda 1:20.444 +0.796s 30
7 63 George Russell Williams Mercedes 1:20.529 +0.881s 28
8 4 Lando Norris McLaren Mercedes 1:20.635 +0.987s 25
9 55 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1:20.680 +1.032s 26
10 31 Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault 1:20.800 +1.152s 26
11 18 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Mercedes 1:20.894 +1.246s 28
12 3 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Mercedes 1:20.995 +1.347s 30
13 22 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri Honda 1:21.090 +1.442s 27
14 14 Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault 1:21.303 +1.655s 30
15 7 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo Racing Ferrari 1:21.381 +1.733s 24
16 5 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Mercedes 1:21.405 +1.757s 30
17 98 Callum Ilott Alfa Romeo Racing Ferrari 1:21.806 +2.158s 21
18 47 Mick Schumacher Haas Ferrari 1:21.939 +2.291s 28
19 6 Nicholas Latifi Williams Mercedes 1:22.293 +2.645s 28
20 9 Nikita Mazepin Haas Ferrari 1:24.224 +4.576s 28