F1: Gasly tops Practice 3, Verstappen hits wall in Baku (Update)

Baku punishes the smallest mistakes! Max Verstappen’s qualifying preparations were dealt a huge blow at Turn 15.

His teammate Sergio Perez finished P2 with a 1:42.595.

Verstappen was P15 with a 1:43.984 which was set before his shunt

June 5, 2021 

Pierre Gasly has topped the final practice session for the Azerbaijan GP in a very hot Baku with a lap of 1m42.251s.

The Frenchman put up a spectacular lap in his Alpha Tauri to finish 0.344s ahead of the Red Bull Honda of Sergio Perez, with a sandbagging Lewis Hamilton a further tenth back in third.  Hamilton went from out of the top-10 to P3 from out of nowhere, proving Mercedes has been sandbagging all weekend.

But maybe not.

Take away the huge tow he got from Perez which was worth around six tenths, and he plunges back down to ninth or P10.

Gasly’s qualifying has been superb all year, only failing to make Q3 once so far. Top in FP3, can he carry that into qualifying and interrupt the dynamic at the front of the grid?

The Ferraris of Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz Jr. rounded out the top-5.

Charles Leclerc

But who will grab pole? Perez for the first time? Gasly to cause a huge upset? Leclerc for Baku redemption? It could be the most open qualifying of the year to date and is not to be missed.

Practice 3 Results

1 10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri Honda 1:42.251 +0.000s 16
2 11 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing Honda 1:42.595 +0.344s 19
3 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:42.697 +0.446s 16
4 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:42.778 +0.527s 16
5 55 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1:43.006 +0.755s 17
6 4 Lando Norris McLaren Mercedes 1:43.011 +0.760s 15
7 14 Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault 1:43.080 +0.829s 15
8 22 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri Honda 1:43.244 +0.993s 19
9 31 Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault 1:43.294 +1.043s 15
10 3 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Mercedes 1:43.557 +1.306s 17
11 5 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Mercedes 1:43.585 +1.334s 13
12 18 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Mercedes 1:43.682 +1.431s 13
13 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:43.745 +1.494s 16
14 7 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo Racing Ferrari 1:43.826 +1.575s 17
15 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing Honda 1:43.984 +1.733s 6
16 6 Nicholas Latifi Williams Mercedes 1:44.054 +1.803s 17
17 99 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing Ferrari 1:44.113 +1.862s 11
18 63 George Russell Williams Mercedes 1:44.434 +2.183s 12
19 47 Mick Schumacher Haas Ferrari 1:45.282 +3.031s 17
20 9 Nikita Mazepin Haas Ferrari 1:45.711 +3.460s 12