MotoGP: Marquez is Back! Remains the king of Sachsenring

For the 11th consecutive time in his career, Marc Marquez stole the show at the Sachsenring and returned to the top step of the podium 581 days after his last win.

There was no stopping Marc Marquez as the lights went out at the Sachsenring, the 10-time German GP winner shooting forward and moving into second by the second corner. By the end of the first lap, he had moved into the lead and defended a brief challenge from Aleix Espargaro. Consistent pace saw the eight-time World Champion steadily grow his lead, falling rain drops only spurring him on. As the race crossed over half-distance, Miguel Oliveira emerged as Marquez’s closest rival as the Portuguese rider traded fastest laps with the race leader.

End of lap 1 and Marquez has already taken the lead. photo: MICHELIN

Intense pressure and a strong ride from Oliveira pushed Marquez right to the end of the race, but 336 days after his injury at the 2020 Spanish Grand Prix, Marc Marquez was a race winner once again. It is his 11th straight win in Germany and the 11th consecutive win for a Repsol Honda Team rider at the circuit, ending a 21-race run without a victory. With his 96th premier class podium, his 57th win in the class, Marquez moves ahead of Doohan for most premier class podiums – fourth overall.

Marquez takes lead from Oliveira.  photo: MICHELIN

Winner’s Quote

Marc Marquez
“This is one of the most important, and hardest, moments of my career. Today I knew there was a great opportunity to do something. When I crossed the line I just enjoyed it and then arriving with my whole team there, emotional, it helps a lot after such a difficult situation. It’s impossible to come back alone, you need people, you need a good team, a good team of doctors, a physio, Honda, Honda respect me a lot. Alberto Puig, Emilio Alzamora, my family, they helped me a lot. Now it’s time to enjoy this weekend, we were looking for a petrol station, but now we found one and the fuel tank is full again. It’s extra motivation for me, for Honda, for the engineers, for the team and let’s see what the future brings. When I saw some drops of rain on lap four of five, I said; it’s my race. I started pushing at this point and then when it started to rain harder, I pushed even more and then the second race with Oliveira began. He pushed so hard and was very fast, it was hard to keep concentrated because all the memories, everything I have lived over the last year, came into my mind. But we did it. We will do it again.”

Marc Marquez is unbeatable a this track

Race Results

1 Marc Marquez SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) +0.000s
2 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM (RC16) +1.610s
3 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +6.772s
4 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16) +7.922s
5 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Team (GP21) +8.591s
6 Jack Miller AUS Ducati Team (GP21) +9.086s
7 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) +9.371s
8 Johann Zarco FRA Pramac Ducati (GP21) +11.439s
9 Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +11.625s
10 Pol Espargaro SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) +14.769s
11 Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +16.803s
12 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP21)* +16.915s
13 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) +19.217s
14 Valentino Rossi ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) +22.300s
15 Luca Marini ITA Sky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)* +23.615s
16 Enea Bastianini ITA Avintia Ducati (GP19)* +23.738s
17 Iker Lecuona SPA KTM Tech3 (RC16) +23.946s
18 Franco Morbidelli ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) +24.414s
19 Maverick Viñales SPA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +24.715s
DNF Lorenzo Savadori ITA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* DNF
DNF Danilo Petrucci ITA KTM Tech3 (RC16) DNF
DNF Alex Marquez SPA LCR Honda (RC213V) DNF

* Rookie

Rider Standings

Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor
1 Quartararo Fabio 20 FRA 131 Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha
2 Zarco Johann 5 FRA 109 Pramac Racing Ducati
3 Miller Jack 43 AUS 100 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati
4 Bagnaia Francesco 63 ITA 99 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati
5 Mir Joan 36 SPA 85 Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki
6 Vinales Maverick 12 SPA 75 Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha
7 Oliveira Miguel 88 POR 74 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
8 Binder Brad 33 RSA 56 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
9 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA 53 Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia
10 Marquez Marc 93 SPA 41 Repsol Honda Team Honda
11 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA 40 Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha
12 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA 35 Repsol Honda Team Honda
13 Nakagami Takaaki 30 JPN 34 LCR Honda Honda
14 Rins Alex 42 SPA 28 Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki
15 Bastianini Enea 23 ITA 26 Avintia Esponsorama Ducati
16 Marquez Alex 73 SPA 25 LCR Honda Honda
17 Martin Jorge 89 SPA 23 Pramac Racing Ducati
18 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA 23 Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM
19 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA 17 Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha
20 Marini Luca 10 ITA 14 SKY VR46 Avintia Ducati
21 Lecuona Iker 27 SPA 13 Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM
22 Bradl Stefan 6 GER 11 Team HRC Honda
23 Savadori Lorenzo 32 ITA 4 Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia
24 Pirro Michele 51 ITA 3 Pramac Racing Ducati
25 Rabat Tito 53 SPA 1 Pramac Racing Ducati
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :