FIA decisions on Formula E Championship

As of this weekend’s New York City E-Prix, the FIA Race Director will have the jurisdiction to stop a Formula E race that begins behind the Safety Car in order to resume the action with a standing start once drivers have had the chance to acclimatize to the conditions. This decision gives the FIA Race Director an additional option when conditions do not allow for a normal standing start straight away, such as in the case of a wet track.

The WMSC also ratified the Season Eight 2021-2022 FIA Formula E World Championship Sporting Regulations. In agreement with the Gen 2 Car Technical Roadmap, the power of the cars in normal mode during races will be increased from 200kW to 220kW. From Season Eight onwards, the FIA Race Director will moreover have the option to recommence interrupted races with a standing start, as an alternative to the existing Safety Car rolling re-start.

Lastly, the Season Eight 2021-2022 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship calendar was approved as follows:

Rd 1 & 2 28 & 29 January 2022 Saudi Arabia Diriyah
Rd 3 12 February 2022 Mexico Mexico City
Rd 4 26 February 2022 South Africa Cape Town
Rd 5 19 March 2022 China TBD
Rd 6 9 April 2022 Italy Rome
Rd 7 30 April 2022 Monaco Monte Carlo
Rd 8 14 May 2022 Germany Berlin
Rd 9 4 June 2022 TBD TBD
Rd 10 2 July 2022 Canada Vancouver
Rd 11 &12 16 & 17 July 2022 USA New York City
Rd 13 & 14 30 & 31 July 2022 United Kingdom London
Rd 15 & 16 13 & 14 August 2022 South Korea Seoul