F3: Colombo wins first sprint race in Budapest

Lorenzo Colombo clinched a first Formula 3 victory for both himself and Campos Racing, enjoying a breakthrough moment as he took his first points in the Championship, becoming the eighth different winner of the season.

The Italian – who dedicated the win to the team’s late founder Adrian Campos – had to work hard for it, keeping a calm head off the line before sweeping past polesitter Jonny Edgar. It was a disastrous morning for the Carlin Buzz driver, who lost power at the end of the move and was forced to retire.

Ayumu Iwasa was unable to trouble Colombo – who survived a Safety Car restart – but did see off the challenge of the more experienced Olli Caldwell in third. The PREMA racer moves up to second in the standings after a difficult day for title rival Frederik Vesti, who pulled to a stop on the tarmac midway through the race.

Caldwell’s PREMA teammate Dennis Hauger made up four places to strengthen his points lead.

Lorenzo Colombo leads

F3 Sprint Race Results

Pos Driver Team Behind
1 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 0.000s
2 Ayumu Iwasa HitechGP 1.800
3 Olli Caldwell Prema Powerteam 2.000
4 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 2.700
5 Clement Novalak Trident 3.200
6 Dennis Hauger Prema Powerteam 3.600
7 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 4.900
8 David Schumacher Trident 6.400
9 Jack Doohan Trident 7.500
10 Matteo Nannini HWA AG 7.800
11 Roman Staněk HitechGP 8.300
12 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 9.500
13 Arthur Leclerc Prema Powerteam 9.600
14 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 10.500
15 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 11.400
16 Jake Hughes Carlin 11.900
17 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 12.200
18 Oliver Rasmussen HWA AG 13.600
19 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 13.700
20 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 14.200
21 Tijmen van MP Motorsport 14.500
22 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport 15.300
23 Rafael Villagómez HWA AG 16.600
24 Reshad de Charouz Racing System 17.100
25 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 18.000
26 Jak Crawford HitechGP 18.400
27 László Tóth Campos Racing 19.600
28 Ido Cohen Carlin
29 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix
30 Jonny Edgar Carlin