Formula E: Di Grassi wins in Audi swan song

With Audi quitting Formula E, Lucas di Grassi sealed a home-win for Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler in the BMW i Berlin E-Prix presented by CBMM Niobium after securing victory in the first of two races on the final weekend of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.

The Brazilian put in a red-hot performance in the searing heat of the German capital to force himself into title contention, with ROKiT Venturi Racing’s Edoardo Mortara finishing second and Jaguar Racing’s Mitch Evans taking third.

The Brazilian driver started third on the grid behind a front-row lock out by DS TECHEETAH’s Jean-Éric Vergne and António Félix da Costa.

The results sees Jaguar Racing rise to the top of the Teams’ Standings with 171 points, followed by DS TECHEETAH and Envision Virgin Racing in third.

Mercedes-EQ’s Nyck de Vries failed to finish in Berlin but remains first in Drivers’ Standings ahead of the final round of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship. The Mercedes-EQ driver is followed by Edoardo Mortara, while BMW i Andretti Motorsport’s Jake Dennis sits in third.

More to follow….

Berlin Race 1 Results – 38 Laps

Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Lucas di Grassi Team Abt 0.000s
2 Edoardo Mortara Venturi 0.141s
3 Mitch Evans Jaguar Racing 5.499s
4 Norman Nato Venturi 5.589s
5 Jake Dennis Andretti Autosport 5.830s
6 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah 6.411s
7 Antonio Felix da Costa Techeetah 6.777s
8 Maximilian Gunther Andretti Autosport 7.562s
9 René Rast Team Abt 7.798s
10 Andre Lotterer Porsche Team 14.124s
11 Sébastien Buemi DAMS 15.546s
12 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes 16.214s
13 Oliver Rowland DAMS 16.814s
14 Nick Cassidy Virgin Racing 16.917s
15 Robin Frijns Virgin Racing 21.278s
16 Joel Eriksson Dragon Racing 23.666s
17 Alexander Sims Mahindra Racing 29.019s
18 Sergio Sette Camara Dragon Racing 30.962s
19 Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team 33.199s
20 Alex Lynn Mahindra Racing 33.438s
21 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche Team 33.781s
22 Nyck de Vries Mercedes 1 Lap
 DNF Tom Blomqvist NIO Formula E Team 6 Laps
 DNF Sam Bird Jaguar Racing 30 Laps