MotoGP: Quartararo dominates the British GP

Fabio Quartararo has extended his MotoGP title lead with a fifth victory of the season in the 2021 British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

Alex Rins (his first rostrum of the season) was 2nd and and an emotional Aleix Espargaro, who won a thrilling last-lap duel with Jack Miller to make history with the RS-GP’s best-ever result in third.

Marc Marquez fell on lap 1 in turn 8-9 and took out Jorge Martin with him.

A troublesome day for Quartararo’s main title rivals

Pol Espargaro didn’t quite have the pace to stick with the podium fight in the latter stages of the race but nevertheless, it’s the Spaniard’s best result with Honda. Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) made great progress in the second half of the British GP to take P6, making it a magnificent six manufacturers in the top six – the first time ever that’s happened in MotoGP. After picking up a MotoGP-best result in Austria last time out, Iker Lecuona (Tech3 KTM Factory Racing) claimed a fantastic P7 to continue his recent good run of form. The Spaniard was able to get the better of compatriot Alex Marquez, the double World Champion finished P8 ahead of Mir in ninth.

Race Results

1 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 40m 20.579s
2 Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +2.663s
3 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) +4.105s
4 Jack Miller AUS Ducati Team (GP21) +4.254s
5 Pol Espargaro SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) +8.462s
6 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16) +12.189s
7 Iker Lecuona SPA KTM Tech3 (RC16) +13.560s
8 Alex Marquez SPA LCR Honda (RC213V) +14.044s
9 Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +16.226s
10 Danilo Petrucci ITA KTM Tech3 (RC16) +16.287s
11 Johann Zarco FRA Pramac Ducati (GP21) +16.339s
12 Enea Bastianini ITA Avintia Ducati (GP19)* +17.696s
13 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) +18.285s
14 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Team (GP21) +20.913s
15 Luca Marini ITA Sky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)* +21.018s
16 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM (RC16) +22.022s
17 Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +23.232s
18 Valentino Rossi ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) +29.758s
19 Jake Dixon GBR Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) +50.845s
 DNF Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP21)* DNF
 DNF Marc Marquez SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) DNF