MotoGP: Marquez wins, Quartararo clinches title

Still recovering from injuries, Repsol Honda ace Marc Marquez was able to overcome the poor weekend weather conditions at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli to emerge victorious in the Gran Premio Nolan del Made in Italy e dell’Emilia-Romagna, with teammate Pol Espargaro taking second and local rider Enea Bastianini (Avintia Esponsorama) in third place.

Fabio Quartararo took a well-earned fourth place, battling from 15th on the grid, and in the process the 2021 MotoGP World Championship with two races still to go. In addition, he goes into the history books as the first-ever Frenchman to win the premier class title.

While trying to fend off an in-form Marquez, and before unfortunately crashing out, Bagnaia set a new race lap record of 1’32.171, beating the record set just five weeks ago by Bastianini.

Marquez hounds Bagnaia until Bagnaia chocked and crashed. photo: MICHELIN

Sunday on the Italian coast marked the 450th Grand Prix race start made the by the Repsol Honda Team, following on from last race where the team achieved their 450th premier class podium. It would prove to be a fortuitous Sunday as the Repsol Honda Team went on to take a dominating 1-2 finish in the race.

Marc Marquez made another lightning start off the line and shot forward from the third row of the grid to immediately move into podium contention. A crash for Jack Miller just a few laps later left only Marquez and Misano 1 race-winner Francesco Bagnaia to push each other at the front and break away from those behind. The pair traded fastest laps as the #93 kept within a few tenths of the Ducati for the majority of the race. In the closing laps Bagnaia looked to have the edge over Marquez who eased his pace to secure a safe second, but a sudden fall for Bagnaia promoted Marquez to the lead of the race – a lead which he maintained ahead of his Repsol Honda Team teammate to take his first back-to-back wins since the Japanese and Australian GPs in 2019.

Leading up to race day, wet and cold weather was the dominant factor of all Free Practice sessions, giving the riders and teams no chance to work on dry race set-up. Fortunately, the recent race and subsequent test here five weeks ago meant that at least they had some data to help in this aspect.

Lining up on the grid, the majority of riders chose the Medium front and Soft rear slicks – the most notable exceptions being the two Ducati Lenovo Team riders who went for the Hard front and Medium rear options, and Quartararo with the Medium rear.

Fabio Quartararo is 2021 Champion (Circuit Misano) photo: MICHELIN


Marc Marquez Winner
“This is a much more important victory than Austin. My target was to be on the podium here or in Portimao, on a ‘right’ circuit to finish the season. And we won. We won here in Misano where usually we are not strong and today we had a race pace that was super-fast. When Pecco started to push, honestly speaking I said ‘ok’ and I relaxed a bit but he crashed. Fortunately, he’s ok and we were able to take profit because he had the edge. We keep improving and this is the best way to finish the 2021 season as we prepare for 2022. When you look at the gap compared to the first race here, we’ve made a step. I also want to say a big congratulations to Fabio for his title, he has been incredible this year and he really deserves it. Today is his day but I look forward to fighting with him again next year.”

Marquez and Espargararo celebrate their 1-2 finish

Pol Espargaro 2nd Place
“An incredible race and result, beyond just myself I am so happy and pleased for the team. They’ve worked so hard this year, and especially the Japanese staff in our team have lived a hard year away from home, so this result is for them. It’s a team result and shows the work and progress that we have made and are making. I was quite tense during the race, to make sure we could achieve this result for the team but on the final laps – everything happened, Pecco crashed, Miguel crashed, I had a track limits warning on the bike. Today is a day to enjoy as a team, as a group. It’s been a rollercoaster this year, but this result shows what we can do with more knowledge of the bike and I was feeling strong after the test. Congratulations also to Quartararo on his World Championship, he has been the reference all year and put together a great season.”

Race Results

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Time/Gap
1 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 41’52.830
2 20 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda +4.859
3 16 23 Enea BASTIANINI ITA Avintia Esponsorama Ducati +12.013
4 13 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +12.775
5 11 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Pramac Racing Ducati +16.458
6 10 42 Alex RINS SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +17.669
7 9 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +18.468
8 8 12 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +18.607
9 7 10 Luca MARINI ITA SKY VR46 Avintia Ducati +25.417
10 6 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +27.735
11 5 33 Brad BINDER RSA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +27.879
12 4 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +28.137
13 3 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +41.413
14 2 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +42.830
15 1 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +1’22.462
63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 5 Laps
88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 5 Laps
89 Jorge MARTIN SPA Pramac Racing Ducati 15 Laps
27 Iker LECUONA SPA Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 17 Laps
73 Alex MARQUEZ SPA LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 18 Laps
43 Jack MILLER AUS Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 24 Laps
9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 25 Laps
36 Joan MIR SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 25 Laps


Rider Standings

Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor
1 Quartararo Fabio 20 FRA 267 Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha
2 Bagnaia Francesco 63 ITA 202 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati
3 Mir Joan 36 SPA 175 Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki
4 Zarco Johann 5 FRA 152 Pramac Racing Ducati
5 Miller Jack 43 AUS 149 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati
6 Marquez Marc 93 SPA 142 Repsol Honda Team Honda
7 Binder Brad 33 RSA 136 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
8 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA 113 Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia
9 Vinales Maverick 12 SPA 106 Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia
10 Oliveira Miguel 88 POR 92 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
11 Rins Alex 42 SPA 91 Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki
12 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA 90 Repsol Honda Team Honda
13 Bastianini Enea 23 ITA 87 Avintia Esponsorama Ducati
14 Martin Jorge 89 SPA 82 Pramac Racing Ducati
15 Nakagami Takaaki 30 JPN 71 LCR Honda Honda
16 Marquez Alex 73 SPA 54 LCR Honda Honda
17 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA 42 Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha
18 Lecuona Iker 27 SPA 38 Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM
19 Marini Luca 10 ITA 37 SKY VR46 Avintia Ducati
20 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA 37 Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM
21 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA 35 Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha
22 Bradl Stefan 6 GER 13 Team HRC Honda
23 Pirro Michele 51 ITA 12 Ducati Test Team Ducati
24 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA 6 KTM Test Team KTM
25 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA 6 Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha
26 Savadori Lorenzo 32 ITA 4 Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia
27 Rabat Tito 53 SPA 1 Pramac Racing Ducati