NASCAR: Brian Wilson to serve as crew chief for Harrison Burton in 2022

Brian Wilson has been tapped to serve as crew chief for NASCAR Cup Series rookie Harrison Burton and the No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing team for the 2022 season.

Wilson makes the leap after three full-time NASCAR Xfinity Series seasons with Austin Cindric and the No. 22 Team Penske Ford. The pair earned Penske the 2021 owners’ championship after Saturday’s season finale at Phoenix Raceway. Wilson also propelled Cindric to the 2020 Xfinity Series championship. In 99 races over three years, Wilson earned 13 race wins, 55 top fives and 76 top 10s.

From 2016-18, Wilson handled crew chief duties for the No. 22 Ford Xfinity Series entry driven by various drivers, including Ryan Blaney, Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Sam Hornish Jr., Paul Menard and Cindric. Wilson earned four victories apiece with Keselowski and Logano and two with Blaney.

Wilson has four career Cup Series starts as a crew chief under his belt with Keselowski in 2017, filling in for Paul Wolfe on the No. 2 Team Penske Ford pit box on those occasions. All of those finishes were in the top 10, including three top-five finishes that consisted of two runner-up results.

Burton will leave Joe Gibbs Racing’s Xfinity Series effort after two full-time seasons driving the No. 20 Toyota. Burton earned four victories, 25 top fives and 44 top-10 finishes during those two full-time seasons.