MotoGP: Martin wins pole in Valencia

For the fourth time in his rookie season, Jorge Martin will start on pole position as Ducati dominated the final MotoGP qualifying session (1-2-3) of the season at the Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana.

The Spaniard beat Francesco Bagnaia) by just 0.064s with his sublime 1m29.936s, while Jack Miller made it a Ducati front row lockout.

Valentino Rossi (Petronas Yamaha SRT), in his last-ever MotoGP qualifying session, claimed P10.

Pol Espargaro escapes serious injury in Valencia

Following a heavy highside at Turn 13, Repsol Honda Team’s Pol Espargaro missed Saturday action in Valencia after scans and checks in hospital.

During MotoGP Free Practice 3, Pol Espargaro suffered a highside on the exit of Turn 12 heading into Turn 13. The Repsol Honda Team rider was taken to the circuit medical center before being transported to 9 de October Hospital in Valencia for further checks. Scans revealed heavy bruising, especially around the right thorax and abdomen.

Espargaro will rest tonight before assessing his condition and continued participation on Sunday morning.

Qualifying Results

1 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP21)* 1m29.936s
2 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Team (GP21) +0.064s
3 Jack Miller AUS Ducati Team (GP21) +0.389s
4 Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +0.459s
5 Johann Zarco FRA Pramac Ducati (GP21) +0.482s
6 Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +0.539s
7 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16) +0.573s
8 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.684s
9 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) +0.708s
10 Valentino Rossi ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.810s
11 Franco Morbidelli ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.845s
12 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) +1.088s
Qualifying 1:
13 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1’30.859s
14 Maverick Viñales SPA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1’30.991s
15 Iker Lecuona SPA KTM Tech3 (RC16) 1’30.994s
16 Danilo Petrucci ITA KTM Tech3 (RC16) 1’31.045s
17 Luca Marini ITA Sky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)* 1’31.073s
18 Enea Bastianini ITA Avintia Ducati (GP19)* 1’31.185s
19 Alex Marquez SPA LCR Honda (RC213V) 1’31.251s
20 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM (RC16) 1’31.319s
21 Pol Espargaro SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) No Time