Supercars: Mostert clocks fastest ever Mount Panorama lap to claim pole for Bathurst

Chaz Mostert has written his name into the history books as the driver of the fastest ever lap in a Supercar around Mount Panorama.

The fan favorite Top Ten Shootout has a history of delivering huge moments and there was none bigger today than Mostert’s effort, which will go in the history books at 2m03m373.

Mostert, was the third last driver out in the ARMOR ALL Top Ten Shootout and put together something for the ages.

Chaz Mostert Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia. 4 Dec 2021

It marked Mostert’s second Great Race pole position and second of the 2021 season.

It was also the first Bathurst pole by a Walkinshaw car since Garth Tander in 2009 for the Holden Racing Team.

Mostert will share the front row with Shell V-Power Racing Team driver Anton De Pasquale, who was 0.289s behind while Cam Waters will start from third.

A happy Mostert celebrates pole with his team boss

The other major story from the Shootout was Erebus’ rookies Brodie Kostecki and provisional pole sitter, Will Brown were being disqualified from Shootout results due to weight irregularities on both cars.

That would see Kostecki who had the 4th quickest lap time in the Shootout start from 10th and Brown who had the 5th quickest Shootout time start from 9th position for tomorrow’s Great Race.

“I don’t have the words,” Mostert said.

“The car was just so enjoyable to drive, it’s been awesome all weekend.

“Just want to thank our whole team, Walkinshaw Andretti United, we did it really tough at [Sydney Motorsport Park] for four weeks there.

“To all our members and fans, it’s so good to have you back… I feel like that egged us on.”

Chaz Mostert

There were four previous Great Race pole-sitters in the shootout, including the last two in Waters and Mostert.

Mostert will start the race with co-driver Lee Holdsworth as one of the firm favorites to be crowned the new Kings of the Mountain.

Mostert won the Great Race in 2014 from last position on the grid.

The 161-lap Repco Bathurst 1000 will commence at 12m15pm AEDT on Sunday.

Top-10 Shootout Results

1 25 Mostert Holdsworth WAU Racing Pty Ltd 2m03.374s  +0.000s 1
2 11 A. de Pasquale T. D’Alberto Shell V-Power Racing Team 2m03.663s +0.290s 1
3 6 C. Waters Moffat Monster Energy Racing 2m03.686s +0.313s 1
4 99 B. Kostecki D. Russell Penrite Racing – Erebus 2m03.773s +0.400s 1
5 9 W. Brown J. Perkins Erebus Motorsport 2m03.992s +0.619s 1
6 3 Slade Blanchard CoolDrive Racing 2m04.051s +0.677s 1
7 888 Van Gisbergen Tander Red Bull Holden Racing Team 2m04.365s +0.991s 1
8 17 Davison A. Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team 2m04.779s +1.405s 1
9 8 Percat Wood Brad Jones Racing 2m04.899s +1.525s 1
10 5 J. Le Brocq Z. Best Truck Assist Racing 2m05.331s +1.958s 1

Race Lineup

Pos Team/Sponsor Driver Car
1 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Racing Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB
2 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT
3 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT
4 CoolDrive Racing Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT
5 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB
6 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT
7 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB
8 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT
9 Shaw and Partners Will Brown Holden Commodore ZB
10 Erebus Boost Mobile Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB
11 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB
12 Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB
13 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB
14 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB
15 Supercheap Auto Racing Broc Feeney Holden Commodore ZB
16 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT
17 NED Whisky Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT
18 Brad Jones Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB
19 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT
20 Local Legends Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore ZB
21 UNIT Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB
22 Coca-Cola Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB
23 Yellow Cover Racing Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB
24 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB
25 Team SYDNEY Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB